Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from na

well done conversion, well located.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: hotel was beautifully converted - but the small things - like the amenities, towels were quite used - could be improved. you could stay with the simple monastic theme, but if you had top quality bed linens & towels it would make the whole experience superb.
Cons: hotel was beautifully converted - but the small things - like the amenities, towels were quite used - could be improved.
Location: well located for all in santiago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely central hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: reception staff were particularly helpful even parking my car for me. breakfast was wonderful.
Cons: nothing to improve
Location: centrally located near cathedral with sights and shopping very close
Lovely hotel, clean, comfortable, centrally located, in lovely grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Hotel very quiet, clean accommodation. Breakfast plentiful and good value, set you up for the day.
Cons: Staff need a lesson in making a good cup of tea! Coffee naturally better!
Location: Good location, direct walk to cathredral.
Central location,easy walk from train or airport bus drop off point. Hotel staff and location good to all the sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, beautiful building

Posted Oct 17, 2015
This is such a lovely hotel, with a terrific restaurant and a wonderful staff. My room was very comfortable and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: beautiful hotel in great location with free parking and friendly staff
Cons: the bed was very hard
This hotel is so nice. It is located near the cathedral and good restaurants and shops and live music. We arrived early and they allowed us to check in and get some sleep so we could enjoy the evening! Such nice service, even upgrading us without charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Perfection Plus

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Everything, including the food, the high level of service, the security and the refreshing swimming pool.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Leave your car at the hotel and walk about the old city. The cathedral is amazing. The tapas bars are fascinating, best where tapas are on display.
Four of us (two couples) stayed here for three nights on our trip through Northern Spain and we were totally delighted by this hotel, an old convent which has been converted and totally modernized. Amenities & decor were faultless. Our rooms were reasonably spacious and very comfortable. The variety & quality of food offered at both breakfasts and dinners could only be described as "haute cuisine". The staff were very attentive & helpful. The hotel is located right in the old city and has it's own secure parking lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel, great location in an historic building

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Location, the historic building.
Location: Located right in the historic old town of Santiago.
Perfectly located with comfortable, but not opulent rooms and a nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Great hotel very close to the cathedral.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location. Staff
Location: Within 600 meters of the cathedral and a couple hundred more meters to the old town. Too many museums and churches to list.
Within walking distance of the cathedral and old town. The hotel monastery menu is quite good and the staff fawns on you. The only negative is that the rooms used to be monk cells and therefore small for a facility of this quality. Everything else is first class I will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A peaceful haven

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Very helpful staff when my luggage from the USA didn't arrive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A Monumental Success

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: Nothing, it's perfect
Location: See above
The hotel oozes charm and charisma as you enter the doors. Dark wood and flagstone floors and the air of history wafts through the foyer, then, the modern world encroaches by way of a glass lift. The cool interior of the rooms offer a sublime and other worldly experience of seclusion within the four feet deep walls. The Monument hotel is part of the Medieval city as opposed to being a tourist attraction. So to truly immerse yourself in the spirit of Santiago, the San Francisco hotel offers the gateway to that realization. The staff will help you navigate the streets and draw you accurate and concise maps to guide you through. The breakfast buffet offers a first class assortment of delicacies to suit all tastes. The swimming pool and jacuzzi are well maintained and seldom busy, so all in all, I cannot think of a finer way to begin your voyage around Galicia. My thanks to all the staff who were so kind and helpful, and in the immortal words of Arnold Schwarzenegger, I'll be back.............Stoppa O'Reilly