Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Great food and a warm welcome.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff and superb food.
Location: The auberge is convenient for the Loire valley and the surrounding forest is great for spotting deer, wild boar and red squirrels.
Me, my wife and our Irish Terrier stayed for a couple of nights in total. The location is great, the auberge is in a village which feels very secluded because of the surrounding forest but is in reality perfectly placed as a staging post to or from southern France. On both the outward and home legs of our drive we were warmly received, rapidly booked in and quickly settled into our comfortable rooms. On an after dinner stroll around the village we saw our first hedgehog in years! We have stayed before and will undoubtedly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A clean, simple Auberge serving excellent dinners.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The excellent dinner after a long day's drive.
Cons: Some English language TV channels would be nice.
Location: The Tete de Lard is a short drive from the motorway and is an ideal mid-point from Calais, en-route to the South of France. Forests & Chateaux to see
Our room was clean and comfortable, with an excellent shower and washroom. The room was quiet and we slept well. Dinner was served in a charming patio area and the food was truly excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples florida

Really charming old French feel.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The food was outstanding, i would have slept in the parking lot for the priviledge of eating here.
Cons: Needs AC - even if it is only window box.
Location: Convenient for motorway, gas stop ect. Very pretty village.
Very nice and comfortable hotel, reason for rating was due to lack of AC in the rooms. It was our bad luck that landed us here on the hotest day in this region of france for >20 years. Parking was off road but a little hard to locate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Booking confirmation required us to check in before 18:00 hrs. Arrived at 16:30 hrs. - hotel closed, no one around, no notice on entrance door! Temperature 32 deg. C. Owner eventually arrived at 17:15 hrs. - no explanation, no apology. Would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Welcoming and friendly

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Had a great stay. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. The room was fine and represented good value for moiney. Great location in the forest, full of wildlife and wild flowers. Very dog friendly. The food was excellent. A great traditional auberge with a wonderful atmosphere. We are sure to return and almost certainly for more than a one night break in our journey.
5 out of 5
by David K

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel with great food

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The cheerful service and great food.
Location: Handy for the Loire Valley and the A71 motorway.
I've stayed several times at this hotel always drawn back by the very friendly service and excellent food. It has never let me down and I'm sure that I shall be back again.
4 out of 5
by Garth from Bath UK

Dated but adequate

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels
As first opinions are most important, I was very disappointed not to be offered any assistance with our cases. This was despite the fact that I obviously had a problem with walking and relied quite heavily on a stick. It was a struggle up the stairs and along the corridor to our room. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The small village was very pleasant, but the only restaurant has closed down. Luckily, this wasn't a problem, as the dinner in the auberge was excellent with service to match. This made up for the disappointing start to the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel was tired. Restaurant was not open. Nice location.
5 out of 5
by Terry & Jen from Essex

Ideal & tranquil location.

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels
Perfect oasis for overnight stay from South of France. Good menu & ambiance - perhaps just a little more expensive than most but good quality all round. Would recommend.