Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from haifa il

springs and hotel together

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Location: the whole fortuna area is full with activities. startinf from the volcanic view, spring hanging bridges canopy and more . min 2-3 days
Hi the hotel is ok with all facilities well orfinized. very convineint to have the springs near your room. fantastic springs excellent for childrens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hot springs pools,beautiful atmosphere!

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Great stay except for the room which had a musty smell upon arrival....dehumidifier in the room which was noisy & needed the water emptied often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Lots of hot spring pools

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Lots of hot spring pools ... easy access to them. It is a large place and there are a lot of day pass visitors - it has a bit of a theme park feel to it. We stayed overnight during March break and there were a lot of student groups here. There are many pools with different temperatures and some with swim up bars. Rooms were nice, spacious and very accommodating with all the amenities. Our family had 3 rooms with King beds - some with showers and some with tubs. We preferred the walk in shower rooms. We chose Baldi as my parents are older and the pools are easier for them to get in and out of and easy walking pathways. Breakfast is included. Buffet style and ala cart dinner available for a charge. Buffet dinner was good but had a cafeteria feel to it as it is a large place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Hot springs are world class!!

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: Facilities and spa in particular is world class.
Cons: Safety, some very dangerous places to walk, especially entrance to rooms has a very slippery floor.
Location: Great
This place is amazing and could be Costa Rica’s hidden treasure but they need to bring in a world class management company like the four seasons or Marriott to take this place over the top. Too many dangerous areas to walk and the place is run like a Tico motel. Ordered Cabernet wine and because they did not have enough in the bottle the bartender mixed merlot and tried to serve it. Not the end of the world but the kind of thing an inexperienced Tico run staff would do. They are other examples I can mention, but I don’t want to take away from how beautiful this place is, I would absolutely recommend it to just about anybody except my New York friends, they just have different standards and will not be happy here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

It’s ok

Posted Jan 21, 2018
It’s an OK hotel, nothing fancy, definetly not a 5 star hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guanacaste

Relax hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2018
We like this hotel very much, thermal springs, good location; however food quality is not good and very expensive. And most of the hotel staff are NOT friendly. Please pay them more or hire new personnel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not trustable

Posted Jan 7, 2018
I left a expensive bottle of whiskey and returned a few hours after to ask for it and they told me to check the next day since no one had reported it and they will have to ask the cleaners..., got back the next day and they kind of laughed at me and told me it was “thrown away”... didn’t offer anything in return ... basically the staff took it and covered each other’s backs... so make sure you don’t forget anything on the room even though is a 5 star you still can’t trust them...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice Hotel with low quality food Options

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and service.
Cons: Food - was below standard. Being a 5 star hotel - we were expecting a lot more food varieties. Very pricey and poor quality. We ate everyday out !!
Location: Very close to downtown. All other attractions - they came to pick us up.
We loved the hotel - We were there for 5 days and their service was excellent. Staff remembered and greeted us by our name everyday. We had one minor issue but they fixed it immediately. We loved their hot springs and slides. It was very nice and relaxing. We used it everyday after a long tiring day of other activities. Sure would recommend to everyone. Bit expensive but i think it was worth !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Nice place, good service. Clean, A/C working good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice to enjoy springs

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Food, springs, staff, location
Cons: Information about springs provides by Front Desk Make more private the balconies of each room An extra bathroom facility close to the kids park
We have a very good stay at this resort with my little kids. The kids park makes easy to enjoy the springs for everyone. I think the bar in the sport bar should be open early for people who just want to enjoy the time there in the am. I found out the pools were attended from 10am (kid park and bars) but since we stayed there we were ready to enjoy the pool earlier. Rooms were very nice and spacious. The level we were was noisy and you can hear the noise from the room next door. Also, the balconies should be more private. The restaurant and F&B service was excellent. Very clean, fresh and with variety. The buffet was our choice and the breakfast was absolutely amazing and complete. Well done! I think the Front Desk should know a bit more about the termal springs, benefits and so on. We asked when we arrive about the pool, time of immersion, temperature and the answers were fine but I think the Front Desk of this kind of hotels needs to provide more information and be more knowledge. But they were vey kind and help us at any time with any request. All the staff looks happy and was smiling.