Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by jessica

Lost my reservation and charged the most on tours

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Claimed they did not have my reservation and blamed it on Hotels.com. They apologized and found me a room at a neighboring hotel (no AC even though I paid for AC) and promised that they'd give me a deal on tours. So fine cool at least i had a room, right? Well THEN they rip me off on tours!! I got quotes all around town and they quoted me higher than everyone!!!! I regret being so nice to them, I should have demanded more. Very disappointing
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Mario, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then. best, Shirlene Angulo, Customer Service
4 out of 5
by Stephanie

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Mario, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. best, Shirlene Angulo , Customer Service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Past Its Prime!!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
This original La Fortuna hostel should be torn down. Everything has been repaited so many times it's ko longer fixable. Repair people always on site. The first dark and dingy and mouldy smelling room had a non functioning tv - why bother even putting one in the room- the second a non functioning air conditioner. No mattress covers. Yuck!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Nice hotel close to Arenal Volcano

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Stayed for two nights and was extremely satisfied ! The moment you walk out of the hostel, you have a clear view of the Arenal Volcano. The room and bathroom were extremely clean and worth the price. Highly recommended !
4 out of 5
by PAUL

Hostel Backpackers

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it was a pretty decent place. Private and quiet but right in the middle of Fortuna and close to everything. Had a nice little bar at the back of the courtyard. Very pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely unorganized

Posted Feb 9, 2017
From the moment we arrived the staff were a mess. First, they claimed we didn't have a reservation which I had 100% made through expedia. Then once they found it they said they didn't have any rooms available (even though I reserved it). They sent us a few blocks away to their sister hostel, where the receptionist tried to charge us double, claiming the cost we saw on Expedia was per person per night, rather than per room. That went on for quite a while... We finally got our price down (which was still more expensive than listed on Expedia). To top it off we saw the biggest cockroach I've ever seen in my life beside our bed, and they lock the kitchen at night all through the morning so if you want any of your food you put in the communal fridge over night or for an early breakfast you're out of luck. Definitely wouldn't recommend.
5 out of 5
by Shirley

Fabulous hotel, good people and fair price.

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
La Fortuna was a delight. Organized a tour from the hostel. $40. For Volcano, waterfall, hanging bridge and hot springs with a rum drink. We had access to the hostel down the street that had a bar, restaurant and pool.
4 out of 5
by Erin

Great Hostel in La Fortuna

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hostel Backpackers was a great place to stay while exploring La Fortuna. The staff at the front desk are extremely helpful with anything you need! My fiance and I felt very safe and were happy with our choice to book here. It is located right on the main strip, so there are so many stores and restaurants all around. I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to La Fortuna.
1 out of 5
by valery

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Showers water was cool.bathroom has not sheave mirror, wi-fi interrupted frequently