Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Awesome place!

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: as above. The staff was very helpful in signing up people for tours and providing local information.
Location: I love the location. 5 km from the noisy, touristic town of La Fortuna. If people prefer, Eco Termales and the waterpark are a few steps away.
Great way to end up our vacation. Resort has very spacious, nicely furnished cabins, beautiful grounds. And there are thermal pools in the back, so we didn't have to go anywhere to enjoy the waters. And the pools get washed, scrubbed and water completely replaced 2-3 times/week! Restaurant food was good too as well as the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Some good, some bad

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pros: Hot spring pool
Cons: Restaurant food; facilities eg. shower.
The place has the potential to be amazing but a few things let it down. Our shower wasn't hot, no matter how long we spent adjusting the controls, which is pretty fundamental. The food in the restaurants was pretty average. The hot spring pool was great - nicely laid out around the bar and a good sociable space. We stayed for just one night as part of a tour of 4 locations in Costa Rica and El Silencio was the most expensive. Overall, a nice hotel in pretty surroundings, but a bit overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Beautiful grounds and soothing hot springs

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Lovely resort with great hot springs! Wish we had better weather. Rained during our stay. No view of volcano. Villas were nice. Set up was a little awkward. Desk didn’t have lights and no wall plugs for laptops. No closets either. Room was clean. Staff was amazing! Thanks Elio! Would definitely recommend to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wisconsin Us

Hot Spring Pools, Private Cabin-Type Lodging

Posted Jan 19, 2018
A wonderful lodging experience that offers 4+ hot springs , a swimming pool, and lush grounds with cabin- like lodging. Good food. We enjoyed ( a family with two 18-year olds) our stay. Easy to get to Aernal volcano and adventure tours/locations from the hotel. Staff is great, especially Yen (front desk) - friendly, knowledgeable and good sense of humor. We highly recommend El Silencio for your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect place

Posted Jan 16, 2018
My wife and I stayed here after a busy day in San Jose and a 3 hour bus ride to La Fortuna. This place is absolutely perfect to relax. The gardens are stunning. The lodges are cosy. The hot springs are unbelievable, I would go back to this place in a second for the hot springs. They have 3-4 individual springs so you can relax after a hike or tour. The staff are amazing, exactly how hotel staff should be - friendly, helpful, polite etc. The food was very nice as well, so there’s no real need to leave this place. I would highly recommend this hotel. I could let find a flaw.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

5 Star property and staff with 2.5 Star rooms

Posted Dec 24, 2017
The property is absolutely beautiful with lush gardens. The number and choice of hot springs was great. The massage was amazing! And the hotel staff were excellent and very friendly and accommodating. We almost missed breakfast and got a friendly call to remind us which was really nice. My main complaint is that the rooms are true to the pictures - very old and “camp-like”; there were ants and small bugs in the room. Also, the bathroom didn’t smell that great. But I guess that is expected with a 3 Star hotel. Oh and we were very close to the farm which the kids loved to visit the animals but donkey sounds did wake me up in the early morning. :) However, all in all, we had a great experience and would come back. I would say the pools and thermal springs were even nicer than the hotel next door which we stayed in the night before and was a 4 Star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Wonderful rooms, hot springs and food

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Cozy hotel at base of Arenal volcano. Each morning our kids enjoyed going over to onsite farm to milk cow and collect eggs. Traditional costarican breakfast is best we had anywere and included. Hot springs onsite are a hidden gem, we mostly had them to ourselves. Kids loved the many walkways, streams and lush plants, the oversized mushroom lights add to the fairland ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Simply beautiful, clean, and extremely relaxing!

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Highly recommended! The design/layout of this hotel is truly amazing. Different temperature hot spring, beautiful grounds, friendly staff. Great place to bring the kids so they can experience the “real world”, for the city folks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Peaceful abode in a fun and active town!

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: The hot springs were right next to our rooms!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: La Fortuna had delicious food and it was close to so much wildlife and outdoor adventures.
We had read about La Fortuna and thought it might be a little too wild for us! Staying at this hotel was our oasis. We were minutes away from the restaurants in La Fortuna and the amazing wildlife / outdoors, but could easily retreat into the hot springs (right by our rooms!!!) and forget we were near so many people. The room were cozy and very clean. All of the staff was very kind and met every request we made above and beyond. I would recommend this hotel to a couple who is also looking for a homey / resort feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Elio , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comments based on your recent stay at El Silencio del Campo. We are glad to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We will appreciate very much if you keep recommending the hotel and if you ever return to Costa Rica, we hope you come visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA, USA

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Great villas, clean and modern bathrooms, comfortable beds, an extra crib was waiting for us in the room, the breakfasts are delicious and filling (our favorite is omelet with a side of gajo pinto, we even packed leftover pancakes and wafers for a later snack for kids), the hotel has 6 hot spring pools, with varying temperature, no need to go anywhere else and you can use them from 5 am to 11 pm. I just wish the weather was less rainy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Elio , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your time in leaving your commments based on your recent stay at El Silencio del Campo. Our staff is glad to hear that you had a good time with us. It was a pleasure to serve you.