Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Downey, CA

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Everything was perfect, staff was welcoming and friendly. We switched our room from a double bed to a single king bed. The room was bigger, clean and had a great view. However, the only complaint was the big jacuzzi tub smelled like sewage when we turned it on.
5 out of 5
by Emily

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C

Very accessible hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff, beautiful greenery, excellent breakfast, nice pool and wet bar.
Cons: N/A
Location: The location is just a short taxi ride, car ride, or scooter ride to ziplining places, restaurants, bars, a supermarket, and a few hot springs.
My best friend and I had a great experience here last week for our spring break. The hotel is central to many restaurants, bars, and local activities( hot springs, atv and scooter rentals, and canopy tours). The hotel's customer service is exceptional. They are very informed about the surrounding area and can give great suggestions for things to do and places to go. The staff is extremely friendly and I enjoyed saying hello to them whenever entering and leaving the hotel. The breakfast at the hotel is wonderful, and is perfect for jump starting your day. The staff at the sports bar are very welcoming and accommodating. Roger our bartender was so friendly and gave excellent tips and suggestions for making the most of our vacation. This was overall a great experience and I would really recommend staying here! Thank you Hotel Magic Mountain!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Small boutique hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean rooms with reasonable rate.
Cons: Restaurant and breakfast options.
Stayed here on April 2017 for one night. We stayed in the brand new extension of the hotel with Volcano view. Friendly staff. Small but clean pool. No hot spring water here. Free but very limited breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great view of Arenal, okay room.

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: I loved the morning view with the sounds of Costa Rica, and the kids loved the pool
Cons: See above... make sure that your rooms have working appliances and safes.
Location: We loved being close to La Fortuna, Arenal and the hanging bridges.
Our room was perfectly adequate, but just missing some minor things that would have made it feel much nicer. Both our refrigerator and room safe were inoperable, and the wifi was fairly spotty. We didn't spend much time in the room because we were out and about, so these things weren't that big of a deal. We didn't complain, so they weren't able to fix the items and change our opinion, but if the staff were checking the condition of the room, they would have known about these items not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Arenal Volcano and Hot Springs

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The rooms are very nice, we got a recently built one
Cons: They don't hace hot springs in the facility but there are some great ones near by.
Location: You should defenetly try the ATV tour
Great location and service, the rooms are great and the included breakfast is nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland, CA

Loved the view

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The staff was wonderful. The view was amazing! The rooms need to be stocked with 4 bath towels daily, due to many of us shower more than once a day and prefer extra towels. The bath tub plug was broken off and we notified the front desk, but it never got fixed. We had an ant issue in the bathroom, which you had taken care of right away. The bed was very uncomfortable. The swim up bar was a nice feature and Luis was the best bartender. The female bartender had no personality and didn't mingle with the guests. Our overall stay was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Budapest

Will get better when finishing touches completed.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Nice hotel with new section. Good sized rooms all with balcony and view of volcano. New building does not look over pool but, at time of writing, a jacuzzi or similar was being built. Only downside was lack of storage in room for clothes and pool area did not gave enough areas to have loungers etc. Not a deal breaker though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great view

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The view of the volcano is fabulous. Breakfast and dinner were very good. Close to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Nice hotel a very good price.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
This is a relatively small hotel with all the condutions of a big one. It's located with a nice view and very close to everything else (tours, attractions, etc)