Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio. USA

Must have 4x4 to get this hotel.

Posted Feb 19, 2018
As I said, we should get a 4x4 when we had a rental car. I had a sedan at that time, it was really hard to get this hotel. Almost 1 Km was off road. When we reached this hotel, we turned around to get another hotel. I don´t believe this hotel had 3 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Just enough to stay quiet in that place. It's far away of bustle, cars, cities and parties. If you want to be in a pacefull place, it's a very good option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Don't bother-try another

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had two rooms-a single whose shower head was cracked & the room smelled moldy, neither showers drained & water stood in the bottom. Our AC unit had to be tweaked every time to get it running, and it just couldn't keep up. Beds were uncomfortable & room not very clean, both smelled awful. Our second room had 5 beds-a double and 3 singles which fit our family but those spreads made me shudder. For this price I'd try another one, there are a lot nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
This was a last minute booking so I didn't do a lot of research. Dirt road to get to the hotel but found it ok. No problems getting checked in but the place reminded me of some old fishing cabin. Not a very clean room and it smelled a bit musty. It was quiet there which was good. The big surprise when I woke the next morning at 5am was that there was no hot water for the shower! Talking to some of the locals they seem to take cold showers but for the price of the hotel, I expected a hot shower. Due to the overall condition and lack of hot water for the price, I decided not to stay the second night. Unfortunately they wouldn't refund the cost for the second night.
2 out of 5
by Reena

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beds were dirty, No hot water. Air Conditioner did not work. Basically, whatever they provided (which was not much) did not work.......:(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of what you are getting.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
This is a place to sleep. We had no hot water. Located off the beaten path down a gravel road. Not really what we would expect from an American point of view. Please try another facility. I cant imagine anyone really being happy staying here..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Seemed over-priced for a tiny room, an iffy air conditioner and plain food at the "restaurant". It was definitely "okay" but expensive and NOT in LA Fortuna as advertised!
1 out of 5
by Grace from San Francisco, CA

Overpriced for what it offers

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
I would like to warn future travelers about the condition of this hotel. I paid $133 per night for a 3 night stay totaling $450 at this hotel. I knew this hotel was not going to be a fancy one, but given the reviews and the price I paid, I thought it would be bearable. Upon arrival, I already wanted to leave. Unfortunately, I already paid $450. Let me try my best to describe the room condition. The bed is very uncomfortable - the bed sheet is thin as paper and the pillows are small and thin. There is only one nightstand and the other side of the bed is probably 10cm to the wall - so one of us had to climb to the bottom of the bed to get on and off. One chair in the room has a super dirty cushion. The rug in the bathroom seemed dirty and worn out. Two towels and one hand towel are offered; all of them are clean but super worn out. The shower head is not bad, but I suspect the shower floor was not cleaned. The air conditioner is super old and almost falling out of the wall. It is very noisy and barely functional. With humidity at 90% plus and temperature at 85F+, we had very miserable 3 nights stay. I feel bad leaving a terrible review becuase all the staff are very friendly, even though they don't speak much English. However, this hotel probably should only cost $30, not $130.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful room, awful breakfast.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Better to forget it. This hotel is not good and definitely too expensive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Broken bed. Very basic room. It is not worth almost $200/day rate.