Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Beautiful resort with excellent view

Posted Aug 4, 2017
We stayed in a standard bungalow and had a gorgeous view of the Arenal volcano. We got a massage out first day that felt amazing and the hot springs and volcanic mud was relaxing. I definitely recommend this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Mr Mayid, Hotel Management
Hi Jeff Thank you for your comment, we ´re very happy that you had a great time here in your Montaña de Fuego Hotel. I hope see you soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Checking in 0

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Check in made me feel like a nuisance any questions I asked. If it wasn't about a hotel service I got the impression don't ask. Room was ok but hot as heck when we entered and no towels to get a shower after the long trip. Little things matter. Good side, breakfast is good, view is perfect, hot tubs are nice. Decent parillada across the street also. 3/5
5 out of 5
by Talia

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time!! Excellent, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful pools, lunch/dinner options and an AMAZING spa service!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Wifi

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
Truthfully, the hotel was nice enough with a lot of potential; however, we found it lacking in service. For one, there was no wifi in the rooms--though the rooms were comfortable with ac, a nice bed, and clean shower. The customer service also left something to be desired. No one was rude exactly, just not that friendly. For the price point, we expected more. There are definitely many other hotels that are competitively priced and could provide a better value in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view of Arenal Volcano! Beautiful grounds.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: I liked the fantastic view of the Volcano, the beautiful ground, the spacious rooms, the staff, the location and pretty much everything.
Cons: The shower tile and maybe more drawers for clothing and personal items.
Location: You can book anything from the hotel - Volcano hike, the suspension bridges, the Fortuna Waterfall, zip line, rappel, tubing, rafting, Rio Celeste
The hotel grounds were beautiful. It had the right combination of privacy and people, you could chose to be alone or social. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel has a great restaurant- recommend the fried Tilapia if you don't mind whole fish- but everything was tasty. Close to La Fortuna, Tabacon River, and walking distance from two other restaurants- also had a convenient store across the street.Great Private Cabanas with a front porch and a viewing balcony from the back. I had an issue with sink leaking and they fixed right away! They have hot springs, a trail, and beautiful grounds. The only thing I didn't like was the shower tile floor- I went in with flip flops- Despite this, I strongly recommend and would stay again. The Guides were amazing- it was individual attention and care- took pics and even held our stuff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Loved this place. Great to start the day with a buffet breakfast and end the evening in the jacuzzi or hot pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The hotel is in a great location, but is old and tired in appearances. The staff need to pick up their game a bit when it comes to service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
What a great staff they have. All were very friendly. Thanks to Jason for helping me with my key issue. The grounds are very nice, situated across the road from the volcano. Rooms were ok..... mine had no phone or bedside lamp like our other travelers in our group and the refrigerator door was rusted. It was clean though. Their zip line tour was great. Breakfast was also a plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Friendly staff, great view, convenient location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, pools.
Cons: Rooms need just a small bit of maintenance -- screen repair, weather stripping on the bottom of the doors...
Location: This hotel is in close proximity to La Fortuna town, La Fortuna waterfall, several entrances to the volcano, lots of hiking, activities, Lake Arenal
The Montana de Fuego staff were super friendly and very willing to help. The location between the Arenal park entrance the La Fortuna town is convenient, especially if you have a car. The mini market across the street is great. The pools are lovely. The rooms themselves need a bit of TLC, but were comfortable and clean. And, wow, the shower water was nice and hot and powerful.