Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicer hotels, somewhat expensive

Posted May 23, 2017
The front desk were very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. The location of the hotel is beautiful and has amazing views. The pool and swim up bar are very very nice! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel however there were a few snags. We felt the hotel staff weren't as friendly as we are used to and felt like sometimes we were more of an annoyance than a paying customer. The food at the restaurant was very expensive. We had a coffee maker in our room but no coffee to make (as is usually found in a 4-5 star hotel). There was s camera in the room, not really sure what it was used for but we covered it up. Other than these minor complaints it really does live up to its 4 star rating
5 out of 5
by Virgnia

Would stay again

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was clean, great rooms and perfect views. On site restaurant was a bit pricey.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An overall nice stay.

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
The property is lovely. Had a nice welcome. Great view of the volcano! Close to all activities. Food was very overpriced, but we had free breakfast. We ended up eating off-property so we could save money for other meals. The beds could have been better, and pillows were definitely not comfortable. We had a king size bed and a double bed in the same room which was great. The shower was always warm and had lots of good pressure. Nice private patio with rocking chairs. The swimming thermal pools were kept warm by a heating device. They were fine, the kids had fun. On property we saw lots of various birds, big and small. Coati were looking for food on the property at night. Leaf-cutter ants are of course everywhere. They are always fun to observe. We thought we saw a sloth way up a tree, but thought it could have been a nest until the next day, when it was gone. Took about 30 minutes to drive to the Observatory Lodge on the back side of Arenal to do some hiking. Entrance to the Arenal Park is up that way, too. Entry to all the hot springs water parks are only a few minutes down the road.
5 out of 5
by manuel

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
enjoy it, good food nice weather volcano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel.Close to everything.great staff

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We had a great stay at this hotel. Beautiful and large room, clean, in the middle of nature. Warm swimming pool. Nice restaurant. The staff has been extremely helpful during the whole stay , from picking up at the airport at night time to organising our tours. They also allowed us a late check out for free. I would highly recommend mountain paradise if you stay in arenal. Thanks for everything.
4 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

beautiful mountain location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The foliage was older and fuller for the forest experience and some wonder birds on the property.
Cons: Restaurant dinner not very good for the price.
Maybe because older jacuzzi in room didn't work, and a few other minor room problems, but the rooms and beds are huge and the rooms have a nice rustic feel. The view from the room was spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Pura Vida

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The rain fall showers
Cons: There were problems with the electric and were not resolved during our stay.
Location: We did hanging bridges hike and leisure time at a thermal spa both were great
Nice unique design of resort. Staff was very nice and accomidating
5 out of 5
by Lorraine K

Great place; Nice surprise! Great Location

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Near Volcano, Hot Springs. It was such a beautiful place, comfortable bed, the room was huge and awesome. The bathroom was a surprise! Had two showers, one like a little waterfall! Also huge. Not the typical American hotel! We loved it. Had a hot tub on our patio which was a nice surprise. Great service; Very accommodating. They drive you up to your room, like a little cottage. Towels on your bed, shaped like an elephant. Beautiful grounds and pool (with a bar). Very pretty! Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit. We enjoyed it. Didn't even watch the big tv. But don't look for the "frog pond" mentioned on the flyer. It isn't there. We walked the grounds to find it. Did find cows out back though. Thin compared to our overfed, fattened up cows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The atmosphere and staff were outstanding would recommend to everyone