Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Amazing doesn't even come close to describing this hotel and views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacón. We are glad to read we have the pleasure of hosting you and that you enjoyed our more tan 20 thermal pools as well as our breathtaking views. We appreciate your reviews and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by Larry

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Hello Larry, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed everything about your visit. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, U.S.A.

Perfect for eloping or a honeymoon

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: the service. the luxurious bathroom. the beds were quite soft. the view from my balcony. the tropical flowers on the grounds. the welcoming mocktail.
Cons: gym. monitor the number of people in the hot-springs so that they do not become over-crowded.
Location: Arenal and Fortuna, see the volcano, go rafting, zip-lining, hiking, rock-scramble, horse-back riding, canopy tours
A bit of 5-star luxury tucked-away in the jungle. The staff were insanely friendly. Mariana, Georgina, Cecilia, and the waiter at the restaurant were all extremely helpful. They remembered the small details. The exclusive and free access to the hot-springs and the Shangri-la gardens was great. (A perfect place to canoodle with your loved one.) I advise you to go for a garden view or above suite. The common rooms did not have much of a view. The garden view was quite nice. The restaurant was very high quality, European, continental-style food. It's the same kind of food that you could get in any major European/American city at a steak-house. It was not very Costa Rican. The buffet at the hot-spring truly did not look very appealing. (I would honestly recommend taking a shuttle or a cab into town or stopping at a hole in the wall place by the side of the road for authentic Costa Rican food). Slight down-mark on the facilities for having the gym under-repair. The locker rooms at the spa were a bit crowded as well. I feel as though they let too many tour groups in at once and that decreased my enjoyment of the hot-springs. As a whole I was very satisfied and would gladly stay there again. They did a great job of booking group activities for me with transportation included. They gave me toiletries when I was missing them. They gave me a bunch of free samples at the restaurant (a free ceviche and then a sorbet for desert)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Guest Relations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ben, Greetings again from Tabacón and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very glad to know how much you enjoyed your Honeymoon and that you received an outstanding service, especially from some of the members of our staff. At the same time, I would like to let you know that we are taking your feedback into consideration and every detail that you mentioned will be shared with all our Management Staff so that we can address those details. Once again, thank you for recent visit and we look forward to host you back in the future. Sincerely, Nancy van de Wall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

A lovely oasis

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Location: An easy drive to Fortuna which has a number of good places to eat.
After spending 9 nights in various Airbnbs, the night we spent at Tabacon was a treat. The room was laid out nicely, and we looked out on lush landscaping. The staff was friendly, and breakfast was an easy walk from our room. Of course, the hot springs and spa are the main event here. Amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a wonderful experience at our resort and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Beautiful hotel: room was nicely decorated, grounds were lush and very well maintained, the breakfast was outstanding and the thermal waters spa was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Vero, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience and that you enjoyed our location and services. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Tabacon Very Recommended

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Tabacon Resort was great. Highly recommended. We were here for 3 nights. While the resort is pricey.. you really end up with a decent value. Hotel guests get free access to the Tabacon Hot Springs. Non-hotel guests have to pay $50.00usd per person plus locker/towel costs. So for a couple... you are saving $100+ right there. Also.. hotel guests have private access to special area at the top portion of the thermal springs called Shangri La Gardens. My wife and I ended up spending most of our time at the Springs in this area. Private cabanas.. beautiful view of the Arenal volcano... drink and foodservice to you... really great. The thermal springs at Tabacon resort are great. Check out their website also and other reviewers pics. Also.. included in your room charge is a great breakfast buffet. I do alot of international travel for work... and I would put his on par with a breakfast at the Ritz or Four Seasons... no exaggeration. So.. while Tabacon upfront is higher per night room charge than some other properties in the La Fortuna area... you actually get more value for your money. I hope to return here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Hello Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read your visit was great and that you highly recommend visiting us.As you were able to experience our hotel guest have complementary access to our hot springs as well as to our private area exclusive for hotel guest +18 "Shangri La Gardens". It's wonderful to know you enjoyed our property as well as our services. We are proud to read you had a wonderful visit and that you highly recommend our hotel. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
4 out of 5
by Alexander

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Hello Alenxander, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a great experience during your visit. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 4, 2017
We had the most amazing stay at this resort. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Upon arrival, we were greeted in the lobby with a refreshing, exotic tropical drink, and warm towels for our tired travel weary faces. They're breakfast was delicious, fruit was sweet and fresh with tons of food to select from, even the most picky eater in our group enjoyed it. A shuttle came by every 5-10 minutes to take us to the hot springs, which were amazing! The only disappointment we had was the gym was closed the morning after our arrival for repairs, but those things happen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Melissa Chacón, Hotel Management
Hi Ana! Thank you very much for your feedback we are happy to read you are having a good time. In regards of the gym, we apologyze for the inconvenience, but as a LHW we are always looking forward to improve every área and we are working on the gym to offer a better place for all our guest. Thanks again for your comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel on foot of a volcano

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, safe, great thermal waters and nature everywhere
Cons: More options and better prices for room service.
Location: Located about ten to fifteen minutes from La Fortuna and five minutes from Arenal volcano and Lake, nature everywhere
No complains at all, great family experience, could be a great honeymoon retreat. Wonderfull hotel on foot of a volcano with a tropical rain forest and thermal waters, a unique paradise. The staff were very kind and ready to help with any of your needs. Great food even the room service could be a little expensive and with a limited menu.The breakfast is great as it is its location. Best of all the rain forest, the thermal waters and the volcano. 100% recommended. A must wen you visit Costa Rica.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience during your visit and that you had no complains at all. At the same time, it's wonderful to read you had a great family experience and that you consider our hotel could be a great honeymoon retreat. We appreciate your review as well as the comments regarding to certain services that you think could be improved.We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by ALBERTO

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Hola Alberto, Gracias por compartir su experiencia en Tabacón con nosotros. Nos complace saber que tuvo una visita cinco estrellas. Agradecemos su comentario y esperamos tener el placer de servirle nuevamente en un futuro cercano. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner Gerente General