Ratings based on 557 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lexington, NC

Anniversary getaway

Posted Dec 10, 2017
This was the most amazing experience ever! We went for our anniversary and they welcomed us with wine and chocolate covered strawberries. The staff was so nice and helpful. The view and comfort of the rainforest room was amazing! We both received a deep tissue massage in a secluded bungalow and was hands down the best massage we ever received. The hot springs are just amazing and with 17 different ones it will keep you busy and the breakfast was out of this world!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Laura, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed the most amazing experience ever while celebrating your anniversary with us. At the same time, it's great to know you enjoyed the comfort of our rainforest room and a wonderful massage experience at The Spa.Just as you mentioned, our resort has more tan 20 thermal pools at different temperatures located in the middle of a naturally flowing thermal river. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
We stayed at the at the Tabacon Thermal Resort and Spa for our honeymoon and it was literally the best decision we could have made. The hotel staff were amazing and accommodating, the hotel was very clean, relaxing and romantic and it was just the perfect getaway for any occasion, especially honeymooners! We had such a great experience that we plan on going back there next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you visited us to celebrate your Honeymoon and that it was the best decisión you could have made. It's wonderful to kow our collaborators, facilities and services made of your visit and even more enjoyable one. We are glad to know you had a great experience and that you are already considering to visit us again. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Hot springs

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Springs are beautiful and we'll maintained. Food was wonderful. Room was fabulous. The staff are excellent. The only aspect we didn't like is the inconvenience of crossing the road, to get to the springs and one restaurant, from the hotel. A pedway over or under the busy road would be ideal. But they do a great job of sending the shuttle to and from regularly and on demand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Jeremy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon.We are glad to read you enjoyed all our facilities and services.We are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations in regarding to the location of our resort in relation to our lobby, just as you mentioned we offer a shuttle service which is constantly traveling between the hotel lobby to the resort for our hotel guest convenience. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again soon in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, California

Extraordinary Resort!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The addition of a quick-response, wet sprinkler fire would be an comforting feature as would an upgrade to the automatic fire detection/alarm system.
Location: The Arenal region is spectacular in its scenery, biodiversity (both flora and fauna), and vast array of great restaurants.
Despite our delayed arrival and personal injuries due to an automobile accident on the way to this truly fabulous resort, the welcoming staff did everything possible to ease our troubles. Although our room had been given to others because of failure to arrive as expected the evening before, they placed us in a two bedroom suite with complimentary wine, cheese, and chocolates. They also provided us with much needed massage therapy reservations and even washed our mud covered rental car in which we had been trapped for the previous ten and a half hours in a drainage ditch. Within hours, seemingly every staff member of the entire resort knew our names and catered to our every need and desire. The therapeutic massage treatments worked miracles. The food was fine dining at its best. The bar service went a long way to quenching the anger at the car rental agency, quenching the embers of our painful injuries, totally adjusting our attitudes. In short, we were taught what Tico culture and kindness is all about by their astounding examples. The view of the volcano Arenal from the swim-up bar is truly awesome. The water at the bar is maintained at 98.6 degrees Fahrenheit! The grounds are impeccably maintained and marvel of Costa Rican biodiversity. Indeed, I cannot begin to adequately sing the praises of this five star resort an spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit and the attention from our always helpful collaborators. At the same time, it's great to read you had a wonderful time at our hot springs and taking advantage of our facilities and services. On the other hand, We appreciate you letting us know about your concern regarding our fire alarm, we have shared this comment with our security department which thanks to your review is now evaluating the possibilities of improving the alarm system. We appreciate your important review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great accomodation

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Was a truly great experience staying at tabacon. Everybody was great. Property amazing, and the thermal waters were amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Guest Relations Department, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you very much for visiting us and for your positive review. We look forward to have back with us soon. Best Regards, Angie Peralta.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Room next door was loud. It took staff till 1:45 am quite them down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to read we had the pleasure of hosting you however we are sorry to read the toom next door was loud. We take these inconveniences very seriously reason why our collaborators are always in the best disposition to act as soon as they happen so that your experience will not be affected.We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
We had a wonderful time! Great honeymoon spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed of a great honeymoon experience while staying with us. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The most gorgeous place on earth! The hot springs are delightful day or night, specially at night when it steams, uh fantastic
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Kate, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you consider Tabacon the most gorgeous place on earth. It's great to read you had a wonderful time at our hot springs. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KSA

Amazing hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
We stayed at this great hotel which was very welcoming, the room was clean and comfy but there was no view for the volcano only the jungle, the staff were very friendly and nice they helped us with everything we needed even with booking the last minute tours. Hot springs were amazing and the SPA was also very high quality. Breakfast buffet was filled with all kind of veraieties. Transportation service were also available between the hotel sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Roy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you felt welcome since the moment you arrived. At the same time, it's wonderful to know you enjoyed the attention from our collaborators and our amazing hot springs. It's wonderful to know you had a wonderful time and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by Bianka

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our service and we remain at your disposal.