Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel on foot of a volcano

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, safe, great thermal waters and nature everywhere
Cons: More options and better prices for room service.
Location: Located about ten to fifteen minutes from La Fortuna and five minutes from Arenal volcano and Lake, nature everywhere
No complains at all, great family experience, could be a great honeymoon retreat. Wonderfull hotel on foot of a volcano with a tropical rain forest and thermal waters, a unique paradise. The staff were very kind and ready to help with any of your needs. Great food even the room service could be a little expensive and with a limited menu.The breakfast is great as it is its location. Best of all the rain forest, the thermal waters and the volcano. 100% recommended. A must wen you visit Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very special setting within the Arenal hot springs

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The hot springs and gardens.
Cons: Have a separate entrance for hotel guests and day pass guests. Better food quality in pool area and breakfast.
Location: Arenal walk and hanging bridges.
The Shangri La Gardens are a lovely oasis within the busy pool area. The breakfast quality is disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon through this review. We are glad to read you enjoyed our very special setting within the Arenal hot springs at the same time it's a pleasure to read you enjoyed our springs and gardens. On the other hand, we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations in relation to the pools area and breakfast quality, we thank you for letting us know as we take our visitors opinions very seriously. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hospitality

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The Hot Springs are lovely. Rooms are very nice and staff is very attentive. We had a problem with air conditioner but they came right out to fix it. Would definitely recommend to friends and return for a second visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Guest Relations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Greetings from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa. On behalf of all the team in Tabacón, we would like to thank you for your visit. We are sorry to know that you had this inconvenience with the air conditioner, but I'm glad that you received a prompt solution and that this situation didn't damage the perception of your stay. We truly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards, Guest Relations Department Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good everything!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Enjoy everything, good food, nice place, room very clean employes nice, overall Great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon through this review. We are glad to know you enjoyed everything about your visit. We appreciate your review and to see you consider us a great hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Comfortable resort. You are required to wear a wristband during your stay which can be annoying after a while. The room was clean. The hot springs are the highlight of this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed our hot springs and rooms. However, we are sorry to read you consider wearing a wristband can be annoying after a while. These bands are designed to regulate the access of people to the hotel as well as to our private section only for guests: Shangri La Gardens. We are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations however we appreciate your review as now we can focus our attentions in the aspect you mentioned. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Fabulous hotel. The hot springs were amazing. Breakfast buffet was much more than typical buffet. Food overall was delicious. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond to make the stay relaxing and comfortable. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit during your time at Tabacon. It's great to know you enjoyed our facilities and services as well as the attention provided by our collaborators. Our aim is to fulfill and exceed all our guests expectations. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach, CA

Paradise!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Location: Thermal hot springs, hike the Arenal volcano, visit the Arenal waterfall and the Mistico hanging bridges.
Great place to unplug and de-stress. Rooms were beautiful, staff very accommodating, and the thermal pools were simply amazing. It was great to have the exclusive pools for hotel guests to escape the crowds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Jana. It's a pleasure to read about your experience at Tabacon through this review. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience during your visit. It's wonderful to know you consider Tabacon a great place for relaxation. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Check in was a little rough due to the fact that Expedia made a double booking but luckily the situation was sorted and I was not charged twice. The room was beautiful. The staff was very helpful. I have a lot of food allergies and the restaurants on the property were very accommodating. The thermal springs were amazing and very private. We have to check out of the hotel before breakfast hours due to an early flight and the hotel prepared for us a breakfast to go that includes a sandwich, two pasteries, juice, and a fruit salad free of charge. Can't wait to go back to this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Maria, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit as well as the service offered by our staff. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryville, TN

Great hotel in Arenal area

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No I don't notice anything
Location: Tabacon spa and just in transit between Sarapiqui and Monteverde
Everything great and I spent pleasant time here. All employee I met are well educated as first class hotel staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Harry, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed everything about your visit and had a pleasant time here. It's great to read you consider our staff was always attentive and well educated. Our aim is to provide unforgettable experiences to all our visitors and we are glad your expereince wasn't an exception to our goal. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice/clean hotel close to the volcano

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Our room has a very good view of the volcano. Nice shower in the room and most of all the buffet breakfast included is really good.
Location: Very close to town where you can shop for souvenirs and decent restaurants/ soda. You can also book tours at the hotel.
The room is very clean and the property is well maintained. Breakfast buffet is very good. Really happy with our stay. The Thermal spring is separate from the hotel, walking distance or take the hotel shuttle. Lots of hot spring spots to soak in and private spot for hotel guest at the shangrila garden.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Joy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit. Just as you mentioned, our hotel is located 15 minutes from La Fortuna downtown (if you are traveling by car) which is the perfect distance if you consider to visit it. Just as you mentioned, our external tour operator offers different tour in case our visitors would like to experience an adventure time around Arenal. Just as you mentioned, our thermal experience is 5 minutes away from the hotel, however we offer to our hotel guests complementary shuttle service between this places. At the same time, our hotel guests over 18 years age have complementary access to our hotel guess only section: Shangri-La Gardens which is the perfect hideaway to enjoy delicious snacks and cocktails, private thermal pools and cabanas. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager