Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

A lovely oasis

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Location: An easy drive to Fortuna which has a number of good places to eat.
After spending 9 nights in various Airbnbs, the night we spent at Tabacon was a treat. The room was laid out nicely, and we looked out on lush landscaping. The staff was friendly, and breakfast was an easy walk from our room. Of course, the hot springs and spa are the main event here. Amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Beautiful hotel: room was nicely decorated, grounds were lush and very well maintained, the breakfast was outstanding and the thermal waters spa was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Vero, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience and that you enjoyed our location and services. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 4, 2017
We had the most amazing stay at this resort. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Upon arrival, we were greeted in the lobby with a refreshing, exotic tropical drink, and warm towels for our tired travel weary faces. They're breakfast was delicious, fruit was sweet and fresh with tons of food to select from, even the most picky eater in our group enjoyed it. A shuttle came by every 5-10 minutes to take us to the hot springs, which were amazing! The only disappointment we had was the gym was closed the morning after our arrival for repairs, but those things happen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Melissa Chacón, Hotel Management
Hi Ana! Thank you very much for your feedback we are happy to read you are having a good time. In regards of the gym, we apologyze for the inconvenience, but as a LHW we are always looking forward to improve every área and we are working on the gym to offer a better place for all our guest. Thanks again for your comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel on foot of a volcano

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, safe, great thermal waters and nature everywhere
Cons: More options and better prices for room service.
Location: Located about ten to fifteen minutes from La Fortuna and five minutes from Arenal volcano and Lake, nature everywhere
No complains at all, great family experience, could be a great honeymoon retreat. Wonderfull hotel on foot of a volcano with a tropical rain forest and thermal waters, a unique paradise. The staff were very kind and ready to help with any of your needs. Great food even the room service could be a little expensive and with a limited menu.The breakfast is great as it is its location. Best of all the rain forest, the thermal waters and the volcano. 100% recommended. A must wen you visit Costa Rica.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience during your visit and that you had no complains at all. At the same time, it's wonderful to read you had a great family experience and that you consider our hotel could be a great honeymoon retreat. We appreciate your review as well as the comments regarding to certain services that you think could be improved.We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very special setting within the Arenal hot springs

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The hot springs and gardens.
Cons: Have a separate entrance for hotel guests and day pass guests. Better food quality in pool area and breakfast.
Location: Arenal walk and hanging bridges.
The Shangri La Gardens are a lovely oasis within the busy pool area. The breakfast quality is disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon through this review. We are glad to read you enjoyed our very special setting within the Arenal hot springs at the same time it's a pleasure to read you enjoyed our springs and gardens. On the other hand, we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations in relation to the pools area and breakfast quality, we thank you for letting us know as we take our visitors opinions very seriously. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hospitality

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The Hot Springs are lovely. Rooms are very nice and staff is very attentive. We had a problem with air conditioner but they came right out to fix it. Would definitely recommend to friends and return for a second visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Guest Relations Department, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Greetings from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa. On behalf of all the team in Tabacón, we would like to thank you for your visit. We are sorry to know that you had this inconvenience with the air conditioner, but I'm glad that you received a prompt solution and that this situation didn't damage the perception of your stay. We truly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards, Guest Relations Department Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good everything!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Enjoy everything, good food, nice place, room very clean employes nice, overall Great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon through this review. We are glad to know you enjoyed everything about your visit. We appreciate your review and to see you consider us a great hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Comfortable resort. You are required to wear a wristband during your stay which can be annoying after a while. The room was clean. The hot springs are the highlight of this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed our hot springs and rooms. However, we are sorry to read you consider wearing a wristband can be annoying after a while. These bands are designed to regulate the access of people to the hotel as well as to our private section only for guests: Shangri La Gardens. We are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations however we appreciate your review as now we can focus our attentions in the aspect you mentioned. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Fabulous hotel. The hot springs were amazing. Breakfast buffet was much more than typical buffet. Food overall was delicious. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond to make the stay relaxing and comfortable. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit during your time at Tabacon. It's great to know you enjoyed our facilities and services as well as the attention provided by our collaborators. Our aim is to fulfill and exceed all our guests expectations. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach, CA

Paradise!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Location: Thermal hot springs, hike the Arenal volcano, visit the Arenal waterfall and the Mistico hanging bridges.
Great place to unplug and de-stress. Rooms were beautiful, staff very accommodating, and the thermal pools were simply amazing. It was great to have the exclusive pools for hotel guests to escape the crowds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Jana. It's a pleasure to read about your experience at Tabacon through this review. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience during your visit. It's wonderful to know you consider Tabacon a great place for relaxation. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager