Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring, TX

Spectacular views of the volcano, beautiful saciou

Posted Oct 14, 2017
This hotel is located approximately 3 hours away the San Jose or the Liberia airports. You will need to arrange transportation to and from the hotel unless you are bold enough to rent a car. The cost for this service was $170 each way regardless of the number of people in the van. They have an activity area called club Rio which offers horseback riding, tubing, kayaking, and rock climbing; however each of the activities are a separate cost per person approx. $30-$45 each person, each activity. The cab to go to the town of La Fortuna is $40 round trip. Drinks are on the average $9 each and beers are $5, a 10% service fee is automatically added to all of your hotel charges. The hotel is beautiful and the view is spectacular. There is not much activity at the hotel in the evening so if you are looking for a party, this is not your spot. It is perfect for a honeymoon couple, lots of pools designed like lagoons. Everything is priced in US currency, debit cards gladly accepted. You do not need to convert to the local currency. I think a 3 night stay is probably sufficient do enjoy the site and activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Gorgeous amenities and amazing views

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Be sure to check out the hot springs at Club Rio (no additional charge). Club Rio is the excursion center/river that is part of the hotel. Prices are conperable too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Awesome place

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Not much more to say. This place kicks ass. Exceeds expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Amazing hotel but...

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Amazing facilities with breathtaking views of the Arenal Volcano from every room, all restaurants and springs pools. Everything exceeded our expectations BUT the mattresses were so old and used that we could see the deformations through the blankets and feel the springs at night. We woke up with a sore back and neck every morning. The food in the evening was excellent, especially at the restaurant with reservations Las Ventanas but the morning menu was very deceiving in quality and taste. Beqarw of the bar at the pool - they put sour mix in most drinks and tell you this is how it's supposed to be done. The mojito was barely OK with a sour-plasticky taste and we returned a Pura Vida drink because it literally tasted like Windex. The barman is not a real bartender and doesn't know how to prepare drinks and cocktails! From a hotel that claims to be 5 stars, I expect impeccable food and drinks as well as high quality comfortable mattresses. This hotel has the facilities to be 5 stars but needs to work on a few important details. We give it maximum 4 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by General Manager Luis Campos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your commentary. We appreciate your observations because help us to improve every day. We hope you can visit us again in your next trip to Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Family vacation

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Resort has great amenities and the staff are exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager Luis Campos, Hotel Management
Thank you, visit us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melville ny

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Overall we had a wonderful time. Great food at the Springs. On site excursions and off site excursions were very good. Great views of the Arenal volcano.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager Luis Campos, Hotel Management
Hello Mr. Gary, Thank you, it´s great to know that you enjoyed your stay, the activities and the magic views of the Arenal mountains. Visit us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

great food, services and activities

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Beautiful grounds , excellent layout. The natural springs were amazing , I would suggest at least two nights to fully enjoy all the hotel offers . We managed to do a lot on the one night stay Lovely Would return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Spectacular Place!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We took a family vacation to this mystical place and I was beyond happy for my decision. The hotel is immaculate, the food delicious and the staff topped it off with their hospitality. Don't get me started in the view, AMAZING!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Hotel is amazing in every aspect! Fishing tour guide, Gerald, thank you for taking the time to explain fishing techniques to my boys!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Love it

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Loved the hot springs and room very comfortable and large for family of 4. Perfect accommodations.