Ratings based on 853 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

We check Home woods Suits first.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, helpful personnel ,free parking, breakfast, all day hot drinks, evening food, Great location
Cons: I think if compere with other Homewood suits in San Diego - need remodeling cabinets.
Location: Nice beach and Torrey Pines Park for us ocean lovers. Nice new area close to HW , close to La Jolla, so much places there.La Jolla Mall is beautiful.
We traveling a lot with our family of 5 (Kids 11,10,6) and just love to stay in Home wood suits. Very roomy and comfortable. Also kitchenette, full refrigerator, all what we need .. like at home . People in the front always helpful and informative. Every morning hot breakfast keeps us full for a long time. Mon-Thur they have dinner..For me is more than enough to call it dinner. Delicious. This time on Thanksgiving break I could spend with my family, went to the beach, parks and did no shopping or thinking about meal. (Do you know what I mean, moms?)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland, CA

Above and Beyond service!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: Maybe have a vegetarian option for the entree also displayed.
Location: On the outskirts of San Diego, but close enough to go do whatever you please. Vons is close too.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed. I mentioned to the front desk person the reason we were in town was because my son was graduating from Marine Corps boot camp on Friday. When we came back to the room on Friday, there was a congratulations poster that had been signed by various members of the staff inside the room. This was totally unexpected and made all of us feel like we were staying with family. The rooms are always very clean, the facilities are always in good condition and we are comfortable. All of the staff is professional and cordial and really welcoming-in a genuine way. The other thing that was amazing is that two of us are vegetarians. We were able to have a veggie burger instead of just salad that night. I would prefer more options for vegetarians, but they were really accommodating to us. And the welcome back wine and beer is always appreciated! I also like the location-it's not in the heart of downtown San Diego so you don't have to deal with traffic and noise. And you are still very close to the downtown stuff if you want to go there. Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at and the only one I will stay at in San Diego.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2017
As expected, nice staff. Shower was weak and they changed our room no problem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio Rico, AZ

Happy times from check-in to check-out.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Easy freeway access, breakfast and rooms.
Location: All San Diego attractions are nearby. We even went to Disneyland (65 minutes away)
Starting with easy freeway access, great rooms, awesome breakfast and the most friendly people in town. It is a very relaxing trip if you start here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Augusta, GA

Disappointing

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms and an available handyman 24/7.
Our room was on the ground floor and smelled like mildew. The sofa and chair were very uncomfortable. On the third night our toilet quiet flushing and there was no one to repair it. It was late morning the next day before the toilet was repaired. They offered us a 30% discount on one night. We felt that 30% off the total bill was more appropriate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We spent one night in room #225 (Weekend getaway to La Jolla). The room is nicely furnished (upholstery looks new), clean, small kitchen and a full size fridge, free parking. Very nice staff. Also gave us two water bottles on check-in. Very pleasant stay. The only complaint is that there was a low-frequency noise at times at night (as would from AC system or a pump, coming probably outside; our room was at a corner), which the staff was apologetic about and promised to look at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from del mar ca

Extended stay

Posted Oct 3, 2017
I am there for 1 month!! So far excellent!!!! Clean, nice staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

Nice hotel close to UCSD Medical Center

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Free parking, full (hot) breakfast, and kitchenette with cooktop, microwave, full refrigerator and dishes.
I stayed here when my boyfriend was admitted to UCSD. Staff accommodated me with a slightly early check-in, and was I given a room far away from any noise so that I could get some much needed sleep. The hotel is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood. The room was up to my Virgo cleanliness standards and the amenities were more than adequate for the price. So many hotels in this area charge outrageous fees for parking, but not this one! The morning breakfast buffet was great, and there was hot food in addition to the traditional continental fare. The kitchenette was a bonus with cooktop, dishwasher, dishes, and full refrigerator. I would absolutely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expectations Exceeded!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
From Juanita who greeted me at the front desk to the manager, comfortable room, the included breakfast and dinners, cheerful staff, centralized location, peaceful area, and suite with kitchenette! I was thoroughly pleased with this hotel. This was a business trip and staying here made it feel less like work. Thank you for a wonderful stay, I'll definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
It was ok free breakfast was not that great.pillows were kinda to soft