Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Your Home away from Home

Posted Oct 20, 2016
If you want to feel like you're coming to your home away from home, this is the place for you. My name is Claude - from South Africa. I visited Quito and Hostal Andino earlier this year. I was welcomed by the owners, Miguel and his wife - truly amazing, caring people. My intention was never to spend too much time at the hostel. A bed and shower were all I hoped for. What I got was a clean and comfortable experience. Just the basics; but at its cost - amazing. Walking distance from a growing tourism area nearby, restaurants, and shops - it's a great place to stay. Ultimately the owners are what sold me. If I ever went back to Quito, I wouldn't hesitate to return here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and quiet guesthouse in mariscal

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location, price, clean and comfortable.
Cons: The only negative was when leaving and taxi ordered - independent and he tried to charge over tariff - pulled over after leaving hotel and threatening
Location: Steps from the popular Mariscal Foch. Easy access to Ecovia electric bus line to Old Town. National Museum and other sites closed due to HabitatIII
Very friendly staff in and quiet neighborhood just steps from the popular (But noisy) Mariscal area. Clean and comfortable. Owners definitely take pride in their guesthouse. Even the daughter helps with the keys for the guests.
1 out of 5
by John from Sabrina, Ontario

Basic accommodation

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom neads upgrade. No hot water in bathroom vanity, but otherwise clean, just a very old hotel. Service very good, friendly helpful people, but I just could not get around cold water to shave.
4 out of 5
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by natalie

A First Rate Budget Hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a budget hotel, but excellent for what it is. Rooms were adequate and clean, the common spaces were also the same. We used this as a base for day trips around Quito and it was fine for that purpose. Wifi service was iffy, but we found this to be true all over Ecuador, other than at Reina Isabel in Quito which is a first rate hotel. And definitely the service is great, Miguel put us in touch with a fine tour group for a trip to Quilotoa and Mindo cloud forest, and took care of any needs or concerns we had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Owner and staff were excellent hosts!! Very friendly and helpful. Hotel is 6 blocks from the La Mariscal Plaza where there many bars and clubs to go to. Rooms do not have a/c but with the cool nights in Quito during our stay (Nov) you did not need it.
3 out of 5
by Arieh from Kiriat ata Israel

Good location,not more.cold room with no any heat

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
A very simple cold room.good location.that's all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, New Mexico

Good Hotel, good value.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Was especially impressed with the Staff and their efforts to go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Nice hotel, a little hard to find but worth the effort. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. Great breakfast, clean rooms and good Wi-Fi. Close to the Mariscal Foch with lots of restaurants and shops, walking distance to the local artist market. Can catch the QuitoTour bus at the Mariscal Foch for a three hour tour of Quito.
2 out of 5
by Tuan from Buffalo, NY

Great potential, but requires better room set up

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room is not up to standard. There is no hot water in the sink. The beds are uncomfortable. Too many beds in the room, no space to move inside the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

general

Posted May 9, 2015
Older building, so don't expect modern conveniences. But for the price was excellent value. Very good location. If you like walking, about 1/2 hour to historic centre, same to the big modern mall, and minutes to the entertainment district.