Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX (USA)

Unique atmosphere in good location and great staff

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The unique style and quality of the staff made our stay memorable. The people staying are also what makes this hotel interesting (world travelers).
Cons: If the mattress were upgraded it would have made our stay even better. we stayed in suite #3 and the beds are showing their ages.
Location: Well located near the Foch plaza with lively bars and restaurants. We ate couple times at Mama Clorinda (good) and Achiote (excellent).
We enjoyed our stay in Antinea while in Quito in part because it is well located near the Foch plaza (but still far enough you don't get the noise at night) where you can enjoy good restaurants and lively bars. We ate couple times at Mama Clorinda (good) and Achiote (excellent) and it was only a 5 minutes walk. By the way, the breakfast at Antinea is just amazing with fresh fruits, home-pressed juices, fresh breads and home-made omelets that we devoured before going on our hikes throughout the city. We stayed in the suite #3 which had a large common area (kitchen, table, sofas) and a small room for the kids. The cons are that there is only one bedroom located on a 2nd floor near the master bedroom so for 4 people that can be crowded. Another thing that we felt could be improved is the quality of the mattresses. Both the bunk beds and king bed have aging mattresses that could be improved (only reason why we did not give it a 5-star review). Last but not least, the staff is top-notch and always here to help with taxis and things to do (for one they saved our Jan-1 day when everything seemed closed but yet found interesting places to visit nearby Quito).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Vero, Hotel Management
Dear guest , we are very grateful for your comments, your words help us grow and continue to provide quality of our hosting service . Waiting for your visit at the next opportunity .
5 out of 5
by Bob

wonderful hotel in Quito

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
This is going to be hard - I have never stayed at sure a wonderful hotel - the rooms are all unique, beautiful wood, balcony that we looked forward to having a beer each night - others have patios. Very safe, you must buzz in. and yes we are planning on returing next year, but for a longer stay!!!!! Plus they speak English and French - helps with planning tours and stuff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you very much, for your comment, We are pleased that your experience with us has been nice. People like you make this the most enjoyable job, thank you for your reiew!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and friendly staff

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 4 nights. The water was luke warm on the first two nights but it was nicer on the last two. The room has an unusual look (cross between fairytale treehouse and greek/roman decor), but old. Wifi works ok...no English on TV channels. Can hear music from the clubs nearby. Room was spaceous with lots of power outlets (none near nightstand though) Close to lots of restaurants and public transportation. Friendly helpful staffs. Breakfast included (juice and various bread) Hotel offers USD 25.00 one way car transfer from/to hotel from airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel close to restaurants and tour companies

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: bathroom had to be accessed via stairs
Location: Close to Foch square- several options for dining and tour companies. Easy walk to Foch square, though on a quiet street.
Quaint hotel on a quiet street despite being close to activity- restaurants and tour companies. Everything served at breakfast was fresh. Staff was very polite. Rooms were larger than what we expected, very spacious with a balcony.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for a younger party interested clientel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
This would have been a perfect place to stay if one is interested in discos and staying out at night. For older couples wanting a relaxing respite after a day of sightseeing, this is not the place for you. The beds are small and hard by USA standards so older couples may have difficulty sleeping comfortably. The young men that work at this Hotel were wonderful and extremely helpful. The breakfast they prepared each morning was always of a superior quality to any we have encountered in our travels. They will always be remembered as making our stay there a welcome and friendly one.
3 out of 5
by Edward

Pictures can be deceiving.... Do your research!!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for over a week and even upon arriving I was greatly disappointed. Not at all what the pictures on the web progeny...and for the rate we paid (over 100.00 a night with all the taxes), we could have stayed in a 5 star hotel!! We are planning on returning to Euador in the future but will never stay here again or recommend it to any one we know!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great location right near Foch Plaza, but far enough away where the noise doesn't keep you up all night. The hotel has a quaint charm to it that only adds to the value, however, the WiFi is extremely substandard- with at least four different routers thought the property, it's a game of WiFi roulette to get one to work more than a few minutes at a time. Staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Provo

Great place, but was a little hard to find

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice stay, and the service was really great. The only challenge we had was that the address didn't pull up in Google Maps, and the hotel doesn't really have much exterior lighting. We ended up wandering right past it, not noticing it, but once we got in, it was great!
4 out of 5
by christophe from La Habra Heights

Nice-ish

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Room was spacious with a dedicated seating area. Neighborhood was great, close enough to Foch plaza to be an easy walk but far enough for silence. Negatives: rock hard mattress & the bathroom didn't have any insulation so there was a 15° F difference between the bedroom & it which made it coooold if you had to get up in the middle of the night
4 out of 5
by Wendy from Nanaimo

Antinea: funky, comfortable, helpful staff.

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
A couple of days after we arrived, we took a 2-day trip to Mindo for birds, so left our bags at Antinea, to be collected on our return. We needed to change clothes, do some repacking, store the bags again while we went to dinner, then finally get the bags and cab to the airport for a 2 am flight. The Antinea people handled this cheerfully (though lack of English was a challenge). The place is funky and comfortable. We would go back.