Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eau Claire, WI

Great hostel/hotel in Quito

Posted May 19, 2015
With it being located in "New Quito" there were many places to choose from to eat. But if you want to see Centero Historico and walk, it is about an hour and fifteen minutes away. So would recommend a taxi unless you like walking a lot. The hotel staff were very nice and helped you out with getting a taxi or recommendations for food and places to see. The rooms are kept clean and are a decent size for a single bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Our layover stop.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The staff are very eager to please and are very friendly. The room is comfortable and clean. The free breakfast is delicious.
Cons: The pilot light was out and so there was no hot water that night. That is probably not typical.
Location: There are good restaurants and shopping nearby.
We felt safe in this gated hotel. It is located near many restaurants within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID!!!!!

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience! I didn't even complete the check in process and go to the room because the front desk staff and owner were completely unprofessional and rude. The front desk person acted as if he had zero idea how to process a Hotels.com reservation, and repeatedly asked me what he needed to do in a progressively hostile manner. When I did his work for him and found out that I was supposed to pay the hotel either at check in or check out, he demanded that I pay in cash. I spoke with Hotels.com (wasted my own money using my cell phone from abroad), and verified that I was able to pay with a credit card. The front desk person grew progressively more hostile and threatening. After finding out that I was on the phone with Hotels.com, he called the owner. She insisted that I pay in cash. A couple at the hotel czme down and told me that they had the same horrible argument with the front desk and owner the day prior. I walked out in the pouring rain and went back to the Marriott.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very happy with hotel cayman

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Cayman was lovely. Our room and the entire hotel was spotless. The staff really cares about the place. They are friendly and helpful and most speak English. We had a lovely time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyne from Montreal

Nice hotel very well located

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Better internet connection
Location: Plaza Fosh, bars and restaurants
Very nice hotel, clean and well located. There is a beautiful garden and commun aéra are nice. Only negative point is that wifi was not available in our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a short visit

Posted Feb 23, 2013
Pros: Good location
Cons: Staff
Location: Close enough to Mariscal Sucre, but a block or two away to be quieter
Rooms were very small and dark. Some of the staff was helpful, but others weren't, didn't seem like they cared we were there or not. We were only staying for one night as we were flying out to Peru the next day, so we may be hasty in our judgement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Town: Hotel Cayman - a nice cosy place

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: central location, cosy duvets
Cons: general lack of safety in Quito at night (not specific to this hotel)
The hotel is centrally located in New Town and the entire place is clean and very well kept. Warm and cosy duvets on the beds added a touch of class, and plentiful towels, replaced daily if we needed it. Bathroom was spotless and everything worked. Hot water took a LONG time to come through (well over a minute), but when it did, it was plentiful and HOT. Breakfast was average but more than adequate. The rooms have some individual character, which adds interest to the modern decor. Our room was a bit small (they fit 3 twin beds into a double room) so we didn't have a lot of room to open our suitcases. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good value.
5 out of 5
by C-

Quiet street, near restaurants, bars & clubs...

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels
The Cayman is very clean, newly updated. I stayed in room #7, which is a single bed, the room was pretty small, however big enough to accommodate my 2 very large luggage, a desk & night stand. The room overlooked a pretty patio & street (stayed 2 nights: had no issue with street noise). The walls are very thin & you can hear noise from people upstairs & downstairs: talking, walking & moving around. As for the room: very clean, newer bedding, daily house keeping with fresh towels each day & a very small bathroom: clean & newly updated! No TV/clock/radios in the rooms. Free wifi throughout; it is a little spotty. Breakfast was simple & good: great croissants, good juice & eggs (to your liking) with coffee/tea. They do have a menu of other food/beverages that they offer during most of the day/evening; however for add'l fees; along with laundry service. They were helpful with directions & Kind. After 12pm checkout, they stored my luggage for free & allowed me to hangout in their living room/lobby area (were there is a TV & cable) until they called a taxi to come take me to the airport. Only minor complaints: 1) Hot water can be spotty: Luke warm one day & scalding hot to ice cold the next. 2) on both nights, toward the evening there was a smell coming from one of the 3 drains in the bathroom. I just shut my door at night, which helped a bit. Overall: a great stay!!! I would stay here again & recommend to all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Loved our time at Hotel Cayman

Posted Jan 1, 2012 on Hotels
Great staff -- very polite, friendly and helpful. They allowed us to keep our bags there while we were out for one day. Called a taxi for us when we needed it and hooked us up with a reliable taxi service for day trips. The location is close to several great restaurants and a vibrant night life. The only glitch in our stay was a flaky internet -- they really need to fix that and Hotel Cayman would be our choice for repeat visits or recommendation to our friends visiting Quito. Thank you for a great Quito experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

became like home away from home...

Posted May 20, 2010
I used Cayman as "base camp" as I explored Ecuador & Peru storing stuff I didn't need on a particular journey, at Cayman free of charge. Hotel staff very helpful, patient, friendly and spoke fluent English which made it feel like home away from home.. I found the neighborhood a little too noisy at times, but in reality, found it was more a reflection of how noisy S.A. countries are as I found it almost everywhere in Ecuador & Peru. It just seems to be out of their consciousness that, for instance, people might be trying to sleep at 2am, or more likely just don't care. Enjoyed the breakfast, comfortable dining room, and I liked the fact I could have a full breakfast if I chose to pay for it. Place was clean, and generally well organized and dependable.