Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Alice from Denver, Colorado

Los Alpes is a hotel I would return to.

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
Most accommodating. Arranged for taxi driver Henry to get us at 1:00 in morning. (Henry deserves an A+). Took credit card. Both Claudio senior and son were gracious and helpful. Hotel was large with solarium and living room. Front porch. Non obtrusive location, yet close to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very confortable and familiar hotel with excelente

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Ver y nice experience, locación and facilites esa excepcional recomended for vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Old Fashioned Charm

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Ambience and friendliness.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: In good neighborhood near Ejido Park (weekend handicraft market), museums and restaurants.
Beautiful hotel with antique furniture, artwork, and spacious rooms. Even the bathroom (with bathtub!) was large. Friendly helpful staff. Near Ejido Park in very good neighborhood.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Santa Barbara, CA

Clean, fun, friendly, but not the best location.

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic hotel in Quito. Extremely nice and accommodating family-run business. Eclectic, but very nice and clean hotel. My only gripe is with the location. We found that we had to take a taxi (about $3) to get anywhere very interesting. But for the price, this is an excellent find.
3 out of 5
by Adrian from Boston

Old hotel, great service

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Located between the old town and Gringolandia the hotel is quite old and in need of a refurbishment. However, it was quite cheap and the owner of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Catheriine from Oklahoma

Friendly place

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
This is a sixty year old hotel owned and run buy an extremely nice family. The hotel shows signs of its age and could use a little work. It is very eclectic and situated conveniently in the center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid place in Quito

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Overall this is a good place. The room was great, cozy and clean. The place was also very quiet except for a loud TV or radio early in the morning. I also like the location which was central. Only complaint was the service. The hotel was almost empty when I went there. There would be no one at the front desk at times and no one to serve breakfast. I also think they could be more helpful when calling cabs to help set tje price since taxis will often try to rip you off. Wifi was good, breakfast was ok bit not great. Overall Id recommend for the nice rooms, location, and because its quiet. Service could be brought up a notch.
2 out of 5
by Kalyan from san francisco

Great customer service but poor conditions

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
very friendly people running this house but 65$ per day is a bit expensive for the conditions available. Wifi is not working and the blankets are not thick enough to protect you from the cold. The hot water takes a lot of time for the bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Los Alpes - A for location, quiet, friendly

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: See above "Write about your experience"
Cons: Very minor things, as noted in another review. Shampoo is not provided. The water in the shower takes a few minutes to reach comfortable temperature
Location: Parque El Ejido is very active on the weekends. La Casa de la Cultura Ecuatoriana is quite close. If you can't survive without fast food, KFC & McD
Stayed at Hotel Los Alpes the 1st week of July, 2014, for 6 nights, in a room for a single. A for location - a 5 minute walk to Parque El Ejido and La Casa de la Cultura Ecuatoriana. About an 8 minute walk to the Hilton Colon, where I picked up my tours. A for quiet - even with such a great location in the Mariscal Sucre, the streets around the hotel were quiet A for competence - all the little things were done right. The room was properly cleaned daily, the bill was correct, the daily breakfast was on time and served well, and my request for a taxi for departure very early in the morning with a reputable taxi company was arranged. A for friendly - always greeted when I arrived and returned to the hotel, always wished a good day when I departed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly functional but rundown

Posted Jun 3, 2014
The staff is incredibly nice, and the hotel is well-located on a quiet street easy walking distance to busier areas. Unfortunately, the rooms are very rundown, with funky bathrooms, no in-room safes, and old beds and carpets. Overall, it's fine but not great. I think this place is great for, say, backpackers who will only be in town for a night or two. If you're staying longer and/or want something nicer, I'd look elsewhere.