Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

La Paz Overnight Trip

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Location, view, rooms. Staff very professional AND friendly.
Cons: Maybe coffee in the rooms or a least in the lobby. I wake at 5-6am every morn. Had to wait for daylight to walk to the OXXO. It was close so not bad.
Location: Walk the Malecon day or evening. Very tourist friendly. Next year plan on 2 days and check out the sites.
Awesome. everything was exactly as advertised!! La Paz was absolutely beautiful Hotel staff very friendly and efficient. Immediately notice the cleanliness and brightness of the entire hotel. Our room was large and had a balcony facing the ocean. Some construction going on for the Carnaval outside our window but we knew this going in. Our friends were facing the pool. Also big, roomy, comfortable. Quieter room The Sunset views were stunning. I liken the view to something I might see in the Mediterranean We ate dinner in La Terrazo below. Food, service very good. Can't wait to go back to Hotel Perla
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good location, views are OK

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, price.
Cons: Modernization, balconies on rooms.
Location: Everything is walking distance from this hotel.
First time staying at this hotel in La Paz, have stayed at Las Gaviotas before, thought I'd try this since the price was right. Great location, rooms do not have great views of the bay but the first and third floor seating areas do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good for a short stay

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The price was good and free WiFi was nice. The pool was clean and refreshing. The staff was helpful and friendly. Air-conditioning was arctic.
Cons: We reserved a king bed but when we arrived (near 12am) they had no kings left so we ended up in a room with 2 doubles. Could have used more towels.
Location: Not a lot to do in La Paz. We explored the non-tourist shops above the beach and hotels, ate at a couple of restaurants, visited the big church.
Hotel Perla is a great bargain. Clean, convenient, free WiFi, well located, free (although small) continental breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, and convenient and very good restaurant attached. If you are looking for a resort-type stay, or something higher-end (for example a honeymoon, etc) this is not the place, but if you are looking for a place to stay for a couple of days in La Paz as a base or on your way to a fishing or diving excursion or to Baja Camp on Isla Santo Espiritu (HIGHLY recommended), you wont be disappointed. If La Paz is your final and only destination, you may want to choose one of the resorts a couple of miles down the coast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two days in La Paz

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The hotel location is great. We enjoyed swimming the pool. The room was just ok. All of the staff was excellent and overall an enjoyable experience at La Perla.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michael & Mary from Lima, ohio

great place to stay, beautiful and convenient.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: central, clean, beautiful with a great atmosphrer
Cons: great as it is
Location: the best
Our experience was great, everything was at our disposal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

La Perla is OK

Posted May 22, 2014
Location: Good location but a bit noisy with traffic. Nice waterfront boardwalk, lots of restaurants.
La Perla is an OK place to stay - that is all I have to say
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wilbur4s from Sunnyvale

La Perla is a Pearl in La Paz

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: On site protected parking.
In the center of the La Paz action. Parked and didn't have to use my vehicle the whole time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Front of the Malecon

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Right in front of the malecon. Free WiFi. Very centric.
Cons: Have more affordable food prices.
Location: Right in front of the malecon, where all the action is. Nearby coffee shops, bars. etc.
If you are
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandimac from Vancouver

Great hotel on the malecon!

Posted Jan 5, 2014
The Perla was a great choice for our 2 week stay over Christmas and New Years. We requested a balcony room overlooking the Male con and bay, and they were able to accommodate us. If you are people watchers this is the room for you. LA Paz is a lovely family-oriented city, lots of nightly activity on the malecon. It can be noisy with loud music blasting from cars cruising up and down the road in front, but it's part of the culture. Lots of policia out there making sure pedestrians cross the busy road safely. Watch your speed and watch for rolling stops if you are driving. The Perla included coffee, juice and bread breakfast at restaurant downstairs. Wouldn't bother eating there otherwise, as its expensive, food so-so, and there are other great places to eat locally that are good and inexpensive. Try McFishers for fresh seafood or tacos. They bbq'd an entire octopus for my lunch, sprinkled blue cheese on it! It was buenissimo!! Buffalito makes delicious burgers and awesome steaks. Harkers Rooftop Grill & Board Rentals has great views, food & craft beers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandimac from Vancouver

Great hotel on the malecon!

Posted Jan 5, 2014
The Perla was a great choice for our 2 week stay over Christmas and New Years. We requested a balcony room overlooking the Male con and bay, and they were able to accommodate us. If you are people watchers this is the room for you. LA Paz is a lovely family-oriented city, lots of nightly activity on the malecon. It can be noisy with loud music blasting from cars cruising up and down the road in front, but it's part of the culture. Lots of policia out there making sure pedestrians cross the busy road safely. Watch your speed and watch for rolling stops if you are driving. The Perla included coffee, juice and bread breakfast at restaurant downstairs. Wouldn't bother eating there otherwise, as its expensive, food so-so, and there are other great places to eat locally that are good and inexpensive. Try McFishers for fresh seafood or tacos. They bbq'd an entire octopus for my lunch, sprinkled blue cheese on it! It was buenissimo!! Buffalito makes delicious burgers and awesome steaks. Harkers Rooftop Grill & Board Rentals has great views, food & craft beers.