Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, KS

Hotel with a Museum

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Everything. Have never had a bad experience staying here.
Cons: Nothing!
I travel to Kirksville twice a year for my job, and I now stay at the Depot Inn in La Plata. It's a gem of a hotel that also serves as a railroad museum. I always learn something new through their display of artifacts and objects that track the history of the rail line through the Midwest. It's also just a nice place to stay. I actually get the best nights sleep when I'm there and often sleep through my alarm. :-) The owners and staff are great. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Ceema, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Beth for sharing your experience!!! Loyal Repeat Guests like you make our jobs so much more rewarding! So glad that you appreciate everything that we do here. It's all about the details here and we strive to make your stay as seamless as possible. We can't wait to welcome you back at Depot Inn & Suite!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wheatfield, Indiana

Depot Inn says it all

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness.
Cons: Quieter rooms.
Location: train cars on the property, just out of a larger town that has lots to do.
If you love trains or even if you don't , a stay here is very nice. The hotel was clean and updated. There is a point of interest, rail cars, on the property. The staff was very friendly and made every effort to make us comfortable. The clean facility was very much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Ceema D, Hotel Management
On behalf of all our staff we thankyou you for writing a nice review on us.We here at the Depot Inn try our best to keep our guest comfortable at all times.We are glad you noticed the clealiness of the hotel. Hotel is themed on 1800 Railroads and train lovers love to spend their time here either watching trains or even maybe reading books.The entire hotel has train antiques and memorabilia.There is also Vineyard behind the hotel making the entire place very scenic.We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowie, United States of America

nice, quiet motel with a railroad theme.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to the nursing home, pleasant staff, always available coffee, and quiet.
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms and increase the available outlets.
Location: La Plata is essentially a suburb of Kirksville at this point. Thus anything you want to really do will require a trip there.
I have stayed here several times in the past when visiting a friend at the local nursing home. The staff have always been helpful and accommodating of any requests. The rooms are clean, spacious enough for my needs and have wifi access which is plentiful for my uses. I only have two dings against them; room lighting and available outlets. The rooms tend to be on the dark side. The bedside light is very low, there is no central room light and turning the lights on is a multi-step affair; turn on vanity light, turn on bedside light, walk to desk and turn on that light. There is enough light to maneuver around the room but not nearly as much as i'm used to in other motels. The second ding is for a lack of usable outlets. no convenient outlet near the bedside table. Only one available plug in near the desk. and one shared with the torche lamp by the recliner. I like to use my cell phone as an alarm when I travel but the charging stand has to sit on the desk which is inconvenient to the bedside. The laptop had to be charged near the recliner. I have a tablet that has to be charged at the desk. At least I have a multi-charge power port for the phone and tablet. Both of those devices can charge at the same time. These two dings detract from the comfort of the room. I hope they start using LED lights in the room fixtures to help resolve the lighting issue. An extension cord made available to the bedside table would be a great help as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Ceema, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Depot Inn. Our staff strive to make every guest feel at home and comfortable and we've found that this is achieved by catering to the details like our quality beds, clean rooms, and up to date decor.We plan to take the outlet and lighting situation under consideration. We are always looking for ways to improve, so your suggestions are much appreciated. Thank you again for staying, we hope to see you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Stay here if you Love Trains

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Trains
Cons: Breakfast
Very Friendly Staff both night and day staff. Lots of interesting train items
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by frontdesk@depotinn.com, Hotel Management
We are so happy that you were pleased with your visit and will look forward to seeing you again. Although we are located in a small town we have made every effort to provide all the comforts of home. We have a large collection of train memorabilia inside the hotel as well as out along with a train viewing location directly above the railroad tracks. We also offer bicycles, playground equipment, pool, pool table, an outdoor patio and grill. Our small town also offers one of the most amazing 18 hole golf courses in the area. We are also honored to have one of the few destination charging stations in the area for Tesla owners. We look forward to seeing you soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Has to be the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. You walk in and instantly smell a clean building while you are greeted by friendly staff. My only complaint would probably be the breakfast. Not much to enjoy in the morning but just a short drive away there is a lot to choose from. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience at the Depot Inn and Suites. Our front desk and housekeeping staff take great pride in the service and quality of their work and reviews like yours are incredibly encouraging and appreciated. We have found that it's in the details that we can truly make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable; this starts with a smile when you walk in the door and is followed up with quality beds, linens, and pillows in each and every room. We're so glad to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Only complaint was breakfast was skimpy..it is continental. Other than that the stay was nice and I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel. We have recently added a few breakfast options, but we're always looking to improve so your suggestions are very much appreciated. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Train themed hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel was nice, clean and had friendly staff. They were very helpful with information about the area and things to do.
Cons: upgrade to a little bit better breakfast. I would have been nice to have a variety fresh fruit, at least.
Location: We went to the train show.
We loved this quaint little hotel! My 11 year old and my husband are both train fanatics. They really enjoyed seeing all of the museum quality display pieces and books. Even the indoor pool had the train theme. Behind the hotel they had two train cars with more memorabilia and an interactive train set with scenery. In addition, they had a cute playground and bicycles available to ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by Ceema, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience here at the Depot Inn! The train memorabilia does make this a great place to stay for train lovers, or as you said, anyone! Also, we're glad to hear you enjoyed some of our many amenities, next time be sure to check out our wine tasting offered Monday-Thursday from 5:00-7:00! Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from grand junction, co

Nice hotel away from things

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, super clean,
Staff was very friendly had a small issue with TV and it was quickly corrected. Great history of trains etc...very cool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Ceema, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy that you were pleased with your stay. We are definitely a train enthusiast's dream with all of the displayed memorabilia. We look forward to seeing you again soon!