Ratings based on 900 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel but awful food

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel has a nice layout and was once pretty nice. Needs a bit of a facelift. However the food was horrible in all the the restaurants. Service was hit or miss. Certain nights dinner took over 3 hours to complete and it seemed they had no idea what they were doing. We were a large group with a bunch of kids so we had a great time. But I will not be returning back to this hotel. I would go back to la romana because of its proximity to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Beautiful hotel, room super close to the Pool

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location of the room.
Cons: Provide transportation from the Santo Domingo airport. Or, provide packages from La Romana airport.
Location: We went to Bayahibe to take a catamaran that took us to Saona Island. Saona was beautiful. Also we went to Altos de Chavon in Casa de Campo.
Since we got to the hotel, all the staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was super clean and a perfect spot close to the pool and the pool bar. Also the Preferred Club staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caribou ME

What a week!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Rooms can be updated.
Location: Gorgeous location, beach was outstanding. We did not leave the resort other than to go snorkeling. There was plenty to do right there!
This place was amazing and exceeded our expectations. We will be back! The staff treated us like royalty and the entertainment team was top notch! I would like to specifically mention Tammy, Antonio, Francesca and "Eddie Murphy", they all helped to make our trip so very special. My only critique is that the rooms could stand to be updated. Other than that, the entire resort was an absolute oasis! Enjoyed every minute!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Fab all inclusive resort for 1 week beach holiday

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly and attentive, right on the beach, food was amazing and so much choice! We didn't get round all the restaurants in our week.
Cons: Sometimes the service in the restaurants was too quick and they'd be serving you your next course as the first one was being taken away.
Location: We didn't leave the resort so can't really comment on this. There was a couple of trips near by but many were based around Punta Cana.
Just returned from a 1 week stay at Dreams La Romana resort and Spa and we had a wonderful time. We went for the preferred club, adults only, swim up room and I can highly recommend. The swim up room gives you your own little private pool area on your patio and it got the sun wonderfully in the morning. Being preferred club also gives you access to an exclusive pool and bar area that were in my opinion, totally worth it. The concierge service was fab. We played tennis and volleyball, we participated in wind surfing, pineapple throwing and a foam party and we lost some money in the casino - always plenty to do in the resort. Sometimes the nightly entertainment was a bit cheesy but that was part of the fun. The beach was fab as not too rocky - nice sand under foot if you don't have your diving shoes with you. All in all a perfect beach break.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Not Our First Choise

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cons: Staff was very unfriendly. As if they were doing us a favor by being there. We tipped them regardless but then felt bad about doing so.
We were originally booked at Dreams Punta Cana and were made aware the day before we got there that our hotel was closed until the day after we got there. We decided to book at a sister hotel for the 1st night and switch to DPC the next day. When we got to the hotel we were told DPC would not reopen until mid Oct. and that we would be staying there for the length of our vacation. We had booked a preferred room at DPC and Dreams La Romana gave us a VERY hard time about booking us in preferred status. It was bizarre. They could not see our reservation and did not have internet to be able to receive emails and looking at my reservation on my phone wasn't good enough. Finally 2 HOURS of back and forth they checked us into our room. But they wouldn't give us "preferred" status until the next day. We had to check out in the morning, and check back in, then walk to the preferred concierge to check in there and get keys. I filled out 4, that's right 4, check in slips for our stay. Our room, night one, had a bat that woke us up at 1:30AM and we had to switch rooms (pack and unpack again) in the middle of the night. Because of the low guest numbers, many of the restaurants weren't open. we walked to 4 restaurants before finding an open one. Of the four nights we were there, we got a next day itinerary once. We got a (good) couples massage, but imagine our surprise when one of the couples we went with told us they were given a buy one get one option. not a good look for the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great hotel but don’t chose Expedia blue

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Amazing hotel, but the worst experience with Expedia blue. They were supposed to pick up us from the airport and take us back once the trip was done. I was told to wait at the lobby by 11 am to go back to the airport. No shuttle came for us. We were then told to wait an hour for the next shuttle. At noon, and with time against us, I was told to take a cab to the airport. Very unprofessional. I had to also make the payment for the taxi. So I spent money on the shuttle that didn’t show up and additional fee for the cab. I would come back to the hote but never again they Expedia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Beautiful location and facility, ok food

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: The food was average at best.
The location was perfect, the room was awesome, but the food was just ok. There's a great reef for snorkeling that you can swim to straight from the beach - that should be advertised more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best customer service! Great food, nice views!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Hotel staff went above and beyond to accommodate our needs and make us feel like home. There was someone in every turn eager to help in any way possible. From the moment we arrived until we departed the facility, the experience was awesome. Cautionary note: for better/ more modern rooms you will pay more. 💰
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Very nice place to go for vacation. Staff and all the workers were very friendly and very oriented. Specially at the preferred aduld section from the front desk to the the pool bar every one was so nice. The only think was the wifi it wasn't that strong. Overall it was a Great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Aug 28, 2017
It was a great trip. Staff was extremely friendly,helpful and accommodating. Food was good as well. We would definitely go back and recommend this resort to our friends and family.