Ratings based on 917 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Food, pool,
Great Resort, friendly staff, plenty of food, nice pools, sandy beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reston

Wonderful resort

Posted Nov 27, 2017
I would probably give this location 4.5 stars but the rating system requires you to pick either 4 or 5. The facility is beautiful and ran smoothly. Food was good quality given it is all-inclusive and service was excellent. The resort has everything you would expect. Walking into the water off the beach can be a little rocky but you also can do a little snorkeling if the water is clear (usually best in the morning). Most of the resort is open air which could be unpleasant during hot days but rather nice at other times. All sorts of water sports are available at an extra cost. Our package included their "preferred" services which was nice but not important to have. One thing I didn't like was the amount of smoking. There are non-smoking eating areas but most other areas seemed to permitted it which, as a non-smoker, can be unpleasant and hard to escape from. There is not much walking distance except a small village with not a lot to see. So expect to stay on the property or do some of the paid excursions. We did an excursion to Catalina Island which is great for snorkeling and diving. We organized trips to Casa de Campo and some nearby caves which were also worth seeing. However, leaving the property is expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

All inclusive but luxury?

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: The spa
Cons: Put more thought into the dining experience
Location: The location is a pleasant position on the Caribbean. There were a number of excursion but we cannot comment.
This hotel is all inclusive and moderately large. It was very let down by the food. Of about 9 restaurants we only found 2 that were good. In general all food is rushed and there is no thought about the dining experience. The food was quite often disappointing. The facilities are good but we would say not luxurious. The beach was adequate but not stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Still dreaming of Dreams...

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, food, staff, spa, entertainment
Cons: Drinks!!!!!!!! They weren't very good and really watered down and the mosquitos are a killer!
Location: Isla Saona, Isla Catalina, Altos de Chavon
Wonderful experience at Dreams La Romana. It is a bit of a ride from Santo Domingo Airport but only 15 minutes from La Romana airport. The Japanese hibachi restaurant and the Sea Side Grill were my favorites. I got the preferred club swim-out room but I don't think it was worth it because the water was so cold that I barely used the swim-out :( Other than that everything was excellent. Got a massage at the spa and it was wonderful, highly recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Lourdes Brador, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are very happy to learn that your stay was Wonderful, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Viera, Florida

Definitely Paradise

Posted Nov 22, 2017
I have travelled all,over the world and this resort has to rate as one of the very best! Definitely luxury at its best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, friendly staff

Posted Nov 21, 2017
I took my 2 adult daughters for a get away. The rooms are clean, everyone was friendly. Like other reviews I read before going, the food is good but not "gourmet" but we were there 4 nights and ate at 4 different restaurants and didn't have a bad meal. I had read a couple of people mention that they had a problem with transfers to the airport but we used Amstar, the company that has a desk in the lobby, and had no problems either way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Lourdes Brador, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Dreams La Romana. Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management. We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hosts in not too distant future. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

would come back again.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Friends have been to this hotel and recommended it
This was our first stay at Dreams LaRomana Hotel is very nicely situated, its close to get to any restaurant, lobby, spa. Rooms were very well kept. If you want luxury, this is not the right place, but if you like cozy, clean rooms, friendly service, VERY good food variety and quality, ton of activities for kids and adults - this is the right place for you. Ocean and beach are clean and the water is always calm. we loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Lourdes Brador, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel but awful food

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel has a nice layout and was once pretty nice. Needs a bit of a facelift. However the food was horrible in all the the restaurants. Service was hit or miss. Certain nights dinner took over 3 hours to complete and it seemed they had no idea what they were doing. We were a large group with a bunch of kids so we had a great time. But I will not be returning back to this hotel. I would go back to la romana because of its proximity to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Beautiful hotel, room super close to the Pool

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location of the room.
Cons: Provide transportation from the Santo Domingo airport. Or, provide packages from La Romana airport.
Location: We went to Bayahibe to take a catamaran that took us to Saona Island. Saona was beautiful. Also we went to Altos de Chavon in Casa de Campo.
Since we got to the hotel, all the staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was super clean and a perfect spot close to the pool and the pool bar. Also the Preferred Club staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caribou ME

What a week!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Rooms can be updated.
Location: Gorgeous location, beach was outstanding. We did not leave the resort other than to go snorkeling. There was plenty to do right there!
This place was amazing and exceeded our expectations. We will be back! The staff treated us like royalty and the entertainment team was top notch! I would like to specifically mention Tammy, Antonio, Francesca and "Eddie Murphy", they all helped to make our trip so very special. My only critique is that the rooms could stand to be updated. Other than that, the entire resort was an absolute oasis! Enjoyed every minute!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Lourdes Brador, Hotel Management
Dear Judi, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Dreams La Romana. We were delighted that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we’ve been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service. We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future. Best regards.