Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Excellent location, spacious grounds, beautiful beach and pools
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice people very friendly excellent vacation

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Beach location pool very clean very good food nice people
Cons: Room TV
Location: Excursion La Hacienda and Saona Island
Excellent vacation friendly people work in this hotel bartender Amparito-Alex Yan Buffet Antonio Angel Entertainment Erika Sunami Fresita I forgot to many people every body nice hotel facility 5 star very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are so thankful to receive you valuable review regarding your experience in IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. Thanks for sharing your kind words with the Expedia's community and for highlighting the attentiveness of our staff, entertainment and facilities. Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice stay with family but extremely boring

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Birds
Cons: Front desk needs HR training, Entertainment and wait staff need English lessons, and also needs to be more lively.
Hotel front desk needs some HR training, 1 person tells you something and another tells you another. Rooms are ok, clean, but ok. Bathroom lighting is terrible. AC doesn't go by temp, only by 1-3. Grounds are gorgeous, but gets ruined when the put the sprinkler on -bec then it smells like wet manure. Entertainment staff, although plentiful, stick to the beach by morn-doing some olympics type game, and only do bingo and 1 stupid game from 3:30-4:30. Otherwise, they are not around -even though they seem to be. Also they speak NO english. They try, but can't do it! Eve shows only begin at 9:30-9:45 in an outdoor covered theatre - so its fairly hot, and the shows are mediocre. Dances get repeated and only 1 woman singer is good. My kids were bored, as was I. Fine for a week, but anything over that - bring games and books!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. We are terribly sorry that we could not be able to exceed or meet your expectations; please allow us to express our deepest apologies, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Nice hotel in Caribbean

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Very nice hotel, with everything you need for your Caribbean vacation. Friendly and very accommodating staff. The only thing we have noticed, that build over 15 years ago it's getting older and could use a little update to the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. We appreciate your rating as regard your experience with us. We have shared your review with the hotel management team; thanks for bringing to us your thoughts. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Average 3-star hotel, nothing more

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Great lake and surroundings, little outdated rooms but ok. Tasteless food - buffet is really bad- food stays warmed in hot climate without air conditioning, looks not edible and cooked without salt, pepper or any other spices. Mostly overcooked. A-la carte restaraunts ok - french was not bad however service is unpredictable. Staff doesn't speak english. Overall hotel service is unpredictable - might be really bad ( I tried to order room service and service was simply rejected service). Wouldn't go again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for posting a review about your experience with us. It's discourages us so much know that we haven't delivered you the excellence of services and accommodation that we constantly offer in our property. We know that it is a challenge surpass the expectations of each guest, however all our efforts are just for leave them impressed and satisfied. We have shared your complaints with the departments involved. However, we must say that one of the services that we receive more recognition is the food, we can't salty the food because we must respect those guests that cannot eat with it. On the other hand, most of the staff speak not only english, as well other languages as French, German, Italian, etc. Their native language is Spanish, nevertheless they try to give outstanding services no matter the language that the guests speak. Please accept our apology for all the drawbacks. We hope have the chance to welcome you back under better circumstances. Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

I will not revisit

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: appearance
Cons: a lot of things could be improved for instance the number places to eat for dinner without reservations
Location: There is nt much to do near this resort
The room bedding situation was ridiculous for a marriage couple with an adult daughter. There were ants in the room. the staff brought me a birthday cake that for our 25th wedding anniversary when my daughter requested an anniversary cake and insisted that we pay for it. Finally the Mexican restaurant had me sick for 2 days. I would not recommend this place to anyone!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts as regards your experience with us. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable, perfect for rest and relax during the day or night. The cake is a service not included in price of the reservation paid it. Finally, as regards the stomach issue, we didn't have any other complaint about it, anyway, we will share your comment with the proper department. Please accept our apology for all the drawbacks of your experience. We would have loved make the stay more enjoyable, but unfortunately it was not. Our door is wide open in case you want to give us another try. Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice resort, a lot of kids!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: A very beautiful structure. Open air lobby was nice. Flamingoes, ducks and turtles -- fun!
Cons: Clean out the AC filters. They were black and smelled musty. This should happen regularly!
Francisco at the front desk was wonderful. Thank you! Some wait staff were very rude (especially in the steak house) while others were cheery and great. Too many cigarette butts on the beach. I saw employees cleaning them up, but they should have more people doing that job to get it done! Beach area in general was not super clean. Hibachi was amazing. Food in general was good. Frozen drinks were only okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus as your holidays destination. We are so happy to know that we have please you during your experience despite the contras you found; receive our apology for these mishaps. We shared your review with the proper department who will strive to bringing this to an end. Once again, thanks for the rating and we all hope welcome you back soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great beach/Scuba Shop

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: El Colonial restaurant was not good. Probably the worst meal we had there of all of the restaurants and buffets.
Location: The dive shop, Dressel Divers was great. Saona Island, Crazy Wheels and Scape Park-great attractions.
We liked this hotel because it was off the beaten path of Punta Cana. It has a great beach, scuba shop and a couple small towns close by to visit (Dominicus and Bayahibe). The hotel was your typical all inclusive with entertainment at night and 4 restaurants to choose from for dinner if you did not want the buffet. The staff was nice and friendly. The food was good, but can get old after a weeks stary
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with us your experience in our IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. We are happy to confirm that you had a great time on site and we just hope that you can come back soon. Warmest Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island NY

Great resort

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Smaller then others we have stayed at before (in Punta Cana, Puerto Plata, Juan Dolio, etc..). This has been one of the best, and has the cleanest sea
Cons: Definately the WI-FI. It really did not work well, on and off inside the room, sometime better by the pool or beach but totally unreliable.
Location: The waters were so clean and the resort so enjoyable that we did not go anywhere else. But there are plenty of things to do.
Very nice resort, smaller than others we have been to before. We liked it smaller, no need for a train or golf carts to go from one end to the other. Very clean beach and pool areas, lots of umbrellas to provide shades for every guests (very important and often neglected point). Waters are super clean and full of fish, the entertainment is excellent, both poolside and beach side. The 5 restaurants are all good, food quality is comparable to other resorts. The gardens, green areas, fountains are the best we have seen, no wonder there are flamingos, ducks, turtles and endless birds as permanent guests. The look at night with the lights on is priceless. We already recommended this place to friends!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for sharing with us your experience in our IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. What a nice feeling when we can confirm that all the offerings have been to your liking and that you really enjoyed of this place, mainly because of our plenty ofthe size of the hotel,clean beach, entertainment, restaurantes ,food and all those aspects you highlighted. We would love to welcome you here again, for another perfect stay. Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
4 out of 5
by Vaughan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels