Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aquebogue, NY

Nice resort near beach, large pool, pool bar.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Closeness to the beautiful and calm waters of the beach,friendly and helpful personnel, large pool area,comfortable & roomy accommodations(2bds2bth).
Cons: WiFi needs to be improved and available in the accommodations.
Location: Plaza Taina was a free shuttle away with a few small shops for souvenirs. The day trip to Island Samana & Blue Lagoon Beach was wonderful!
The resort was nice with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, kitchen, dining area and living room area, and a balcony. Friendly resort staff. Beautiful beach area, very relaxing. Great resort entertainment director, Fransisco. Some personnel who where very helpful: Front desk Jessica, Anuedy-general room needs, Juan Fransisco - restaurant, Entertainment director Fransisco.... When we arrived at 3PM, the resort should have prepared for our arrival with a late lunch. The only food available was hot dogs, and extra monies for 'a la carte'. The wifi didn't work well, and there wasn't any wifi at all in our accommodations. We had to re-connect to the wifi each time we needed it. Sometimes, it worked and sometimes it didn't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando florida

Great Views and Great Beach!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The Beach Deck.
Cons: food
Great Beach!!!!!! The hotel is small, but nice its a very affordable all inclusive hotel. the beach it self is only about 40 f. of usefully beach. but the Deck Make it up for it!!!! its a great place to relax, the beach area is nice at night. about the food well cant said it was bad, i stay in 2 other resorts on my stay that double this hotel price and find that the food is the same. i would definitely recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

A Living Nightmare

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Change of administration and better menu options.
Location: We had no money to go anywhere, plus it was the hotel furthest from most activities.
On our second day, we left all of our belongings in the safe including: money, electronics, jewelry and passports. We left the room to enjoy the beach. Once we returned in the evening the safe was not working with our personal code. We called security to see what was going on and they were able to open it with an administration code. They informed us that the only way to get into the safe was with that code and once it was inputed the code would reset the passcode. Therefore, it was evident that the hotel had tampered with it. We searched through our belongings to find that the only thing missing was our money in cash. We placed a complaint but the hotel nor the police paid any mind to us. They then moved us to a new room as we had requested. The next issue that we came across was that the beds in every room was too squeaky and rough to even sleep in. We placed yet another complaint to fix the beds, but they didn't show up till the next day. Even then, they weren't able to fix it so they moved us again. In this last room, the lights weren't functioning and the door wouldn't lock. After maintenance "fixed" the lock we tried leaving the next morning and got locked into our room. So bad, that they maintenance had to come through the third floor balcony using a ladder in order to fix it. However, they didn't fix it they just left the key hole open. Overall, everyone during this experience was unresponsive and disrespectful. They didn't return any money nor give us an answer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV

Nice beach.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Good food, nice staff and bad drinks. The beach is very nice, clear water and white sand.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Nice view, nice beach but a lot to improve.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Water park nice for the kids. The beach es nice and the view is beautiful. The staff at the restaurant, bar and beach are very friendly and nice.
Cons: Room Service, Rooms improvement, Night entertainment is very boring. Buffet could be better.
Location: National Park next to the hotel and Saona Island very close.
We arrived , a party of 6, ready to had a relaxing stay! When they took us to the apartment it was very pretty,but 2 of the ACs didn't turn on. They came and took a look at them and gave us 2 options: another apartment ( smaller and darker ) or fix the Ac next day, we decided to stay. During shower time, same first day, my daughter complaints about feeling electricity in the shower a minute later the living room was flooding because the heater broke down. At this moment we said: take us to another room this is getting a little messy, but they promised to fix it next day.. I'm not going to details, next day they only fixed one AC the other was impossible to fix and not hot water, they only told us they were working on it. We expended the whole weekend showering with cold water trying to stay cool because it is summer and we were there to relax. The room service is the worst ever, at the end of second day we had to call and ask for toilet paper because no one came to fix the room for 2 days! and it was like this the whole stay, begging them to come to fix the room, and give us new supplies, this is an almost 5 start Hotel com on! On Monday the came to fix the water heater, the whole day working on it going back and forth, he didn't change it he fixed the old one. Almost 6 pm he finished. Next day, hot water wasn't working again. Last day had a terrible diarrhea. We arrived home and realized that what we thought were mosquito bites are bed bug bites!! Very disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York city

Hotel ok food not good

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Hello We stayed at this resorts for first time. Beaches are exelent water calm and clear. Pool is nice,but room we stayed in horrible. Water in first bathroom was cold and there was electrical shock in water. Tv worked 2 days and then snow on it . Complain to front desk 4 times promised everything nothing got fixed for 4 days. Food at buffet was terrible. No choices and tasted like crap. Breakfast no syrup for kids pancakes. Overall will never go back. So disappointed. Sammy New York city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to the beach, beatufil beach

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: the show time
Cons: bathrooms
The room smelly, bathrooms dirty and Poorly maintained , hot water does not work, report the problem and no one fix it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

A very nice all Inclusive hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, the room and that my child was able to have a wonderful time in the pools and waterpark.
Cons: More Entertainment on TV for English speaking guests. Also the WIFI can be improved a bit. It requires you to sign in Constantly.
Location: We did Dune Buggies that were close by. The bus picked us up from the hotel and the tour was EXCELLENT. Tour through cane field, farm and community.
My experience at the hotel was pleasant. Only had one slight issue when the bathroom roof began to leak. I reported it to the front desk but had to go back a second time in order for maintenance to show up. When they did show up the problem was resolved immediately as the bathroom above ours had the leak. It is a true meaning of all inclusive. Food was on point and so were the drinks. The staff were very friendly. A special shout out to Gabriella the waitress who ALWAYS had a smile on her face and very pleasant to all. Also the bartender Carlos. However the TV should have more options of English channel. I understand that it is a Spanish speaking country but it should also cater a little bit more in entertainment for those of us whose main language is English. I also did not have a working room phone during the entire stay. Our room was very clean and housekeeping cleaned it daily and changed our towels. The water park is a great thing for the kids and my daughter enjoyed every minute of it. Relaxation on the beach and pool side was awesome especially the dock at the beach. Overall I will visit here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando, florida

Do not use if possible!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Where to begin... well at first they failed to provide me with the room I requested with (as advertised on their hotel inform) a deep soaking tub, they put me and my husband in a two bedroom apartment very far from the beach with a walk in shower where none of the handheld showers worked and no shower curtain was provided, there was no phone so I had to go down to the lobby at least 5 times until finally almost 24 hours later they switched me to a room with a tub, closer to the beach. The tub was very dirty, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while and 2 days after we had no electricity since 9 in the morning to at least 9 at night when we finally were able to turn on the ac and retrieve to our room not before walking to the lobby 3 or 4 times and listening to the same story "we are working on it" over and over again. Utterly disappointed. The only good thing was the bar staff who were very friendly and always attended to our requests. I honestly do not know how they can get 4 stars. They get a 2/5 from me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, Nj

It was the worst experience of my life!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
When we got there, we had to change rooms twice. The hotel reception had ants all over. The 1st one was dirty, had ants and the phone did not work. And I got an actual key for the room. The 2nd room had no phone and had ants in the bathroom. I called concierge and he said he would fix the phone situation in 24 hrs. I was traveling with 3 children, 4,6 and 7. I told what would happened if there was an emgency, how could we for help. We had poor cell and internet connection. It was intermittend! Just horrible. The third room was better, not the best but better. We paid for king size bed and we a but had queen. The wait staff and the cleaning ladies were great. Management was horrible. The food was ok. In main eating hall, there are flies all over. It was all over the food stations and the seating. The bar pool was the same thing. I was scared the kids would get a sick. Oh about the water park, the two rides go into a 6ft pool. There were two workers sitting there and did warn my husband about thr 6ft pool.say. My husband had to dive in and get my 4 and 7 year olds. The workers did not warn us. One was half asleep and the other one was just sitting there. I warn all those who have a young family, do not go here. The was a true nightmare.