Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Generally it was good. The hotel was quite and nice, the oceanfront suit was great in the location and view. Downside is that there is this odd small in the room, hope the hotel management can do something about it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rodrigo from Thiès

Very good, but no wifi in rooms? Seriously?

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay overall, but i think charging for wifi and for the use of the safe is not necessary, it bothers me.
5 out of 5
by Ciara from San Juan, Puerto Rico

they tried to down grade me but eventually not

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay as always. Although a slight inconvenience in the afternoon when they tried to assign me a room that was below the level ( standard room, no ocean view no sofa bed, twin beds) of what I had paid for ( ocean front queen bed with sofa bed). After requesting a compensation I was given keys to a room that was supposedly equivilant of what I had paid for but it wasn't once I visited the room. I had to return a third time to the reception. The manager tried to tell me that since I was only one person I was given a 1 person room. But that wasn't I had paid for. I had to see some one higher to explain the wrongful assignment and demand compensation. In the end they upgraded me to the 'honey moon suite' because they had given all the ocean front rooms away. I had a great time. I will have to go again to try the ocean front room.
4 out of 5
by Eva

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Passant Salem

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult to check in, but once in, enjoy!

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
The resort is very good in terms of cleanliness and comfort. However, and having been several times there, the only issue I always find is when checking in. It seems that the Receptionists (may have been instructed to) always try to put people in the old section and/or in the multi-story buildings in the back side of this large resort, even if pax had specifically booked rooms in the new section and had it already confirmed. Also, while the reservation note mentions 12:00pm as the check-in time, the hotel insists on 3:00pm and it is rare that you would be given a room even at that time; they'll make you wait for at least an hour or so before giving you the room. Other than the above, it's a resort worth visiting, especially for the evening shows.
5 out of 5
by ian from hastings

Another great stay

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it lived up to our first excellent experience. We had a problem with our rooms flooding slightly after a particularly extreme overnight thunderstorm. This couldn't have been anticipated and the way the hotel staff dealt with it was exemplary. And before we left I noticed the maintenance team were doing preventative work on other rooms to ensure no reoccurrence (however unlikely). No stay can ever guaranteed problem free so it's the way staff deal with issues when they arise that really counts. And the team at the Decameron Baobab are really on the ball.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dakar, Senegal

Fantastic Getaway in Senegal!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Beach, pools, rooms, food, and staff. It was all extremely enjoyable.
Cons: needs free wi-fi available in rooms. More television channels. For the price of the rooms these should be standard amenities.
Location: Their are some animal reservations close. Goree island is close to Dakar.
This is our second stay at this resort. It is well maintained and the landscaping is gorgeous. At night, the lighting is very pleasing. The staff is generally friendly and very accommodating. The food is great too. The pools are pristine. Being all-inclusive, our family of 4 (2 young children) had a blast. We will return again. Only two negative things. No free wi-fi. It's only available in the lobby and it is expensive. The distance from the room to the main dining area is long for young children. Not bad if you can arrange to get a closer room. Really, this place is great! We speak very little French and didn't have any problems. I am surprised at how little English is spoken but wasn't a problem. It is tailored to French preferences (i.e. food & entertainment). Also, there are many extras you can purchase such as deep sea fishing and various tours.
4 out of 5
by Teneshia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels