Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Perfect retreat

Posted May 25, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Sheryl, the host, was absolutely a joy. She was so kind and helpful. The breakfast was perfect. Sheryl will make you an omelet on request. Even the croissants had fillings in them. Yum!! The location was perfect as well. From the train station exit, turn left and walk along the shore. Go around the bend or through the tunnel and then underneath the tracks. You will find via Roma. Walk up about three vias until you see yours on the right. 25 is up the hill. You pass a church and 25 is on the left. Enjoy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Improve website

Posted May 1, 2017
Lord everything except the steep stair to the loft bed! We are in our 70's and were not told (nor expected) in advance that the accommodation was on two levels....good thing we are mobile! The service and breakfasts were great!
5 out of 5
by Shawn

Great Location and Service

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Comfortable accommodations. Excellent breakfast served in-room. Above and beyond service. We'll be back!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The OC

Really?

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We chose this based on all the glowing reviews but our experience was far different. Our room looked nothing like the cute quaint photos on the website. There was a hodgepodge of junky furniture, including a sofa with someone's used kleenex wedged in the seat and a stain that I hoped was not blood on the arm. There are nail holes in the wall and a tile missing in the bathroom. The courtyard had trash cans, a motor and a kid's bike in it, not all the lovely furniture and flower pots depicted. Yes, the breakfast was abundant but I can get a good breakfast anywhere. The bed was located on the loft platform and the spiral stairs are so narrow and dangerous I would not recommend it for anyone who gets up in the night to use the rest room. Overall not what we expected at all.
3 out of 5
by Bruce

Great service average accommodations

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
The service was amazing, Cherry was great. Although the house was very loud and bed was hard to get to (narrow spiral staircase) and the bed was not comfortable if your there just to sleep not going to happen easily. Cherry out did herself with breakfast. In room service and all you needed and more. Over all good stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice room.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
We loved staying in Monterosso and Cora who was the wonderful lady who served breakfast and basically ran the place was amazing. She was so friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet the owner, Cherry, but she was very helpful via text. She gave us great recommendations on places for dinner. The place was in a fantastic location. The only thing I would mention is that the bedrooms upstairs are difficult to access via the small circular staircase. It wasn't a problem for us but for older people or people with any mobility issues it would be. Cora offered another lady who was at breakfast one day to make up the bed downstairs if she wanted so there is an option to sleep downstairs. The shower was very small but it worked well. We really liked it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Cozy and quiet, short walk to beach. Perfect for our one night stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Location was great, great breakfast each morning and the service by the hostess was great, always cheerful and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Perfect location. Outstanding service. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Monterosso was a wonderful stay. The hotel is very comfortable,clean,and in a great location. Breakfast was great. Cora was an amazing host. She was very helpful. Definitely would stay here again.