Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Lovely staff. Good location to food and station. Bathroom is small but manageable. Breakfast is all homemade. Rooms were clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coatesville, United States of America

Superb receptionists!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, location
Cons: Dirty and small bathroom
The receptionists Domenico and Sarah are very friendly and helpful and spoke flent English. Domenico helped us to take the luggage to upstair since there is no elevator. They provided us plenty of hot water since we were sick. Maybe it is low season now, the room was quite dirty. We had to clean the bathroomour ourselves thoroughly. It was cleaned better the next day. The bath room is very small: your head touching the door when sitting on the toillette, the basin was the smallest like a toy we had ever seen, the water flow from the showerhead (shower room ver small) and faucet was small and weak. The location is convinient: the busstp to Porto Venere (which is a wanderful place to visit) is one block away, the train station is walkable to (thus, a good base for visiting Cinque Terre). The breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from qld

Excellent hosts and hotel in a fabulous location.

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Parking, location and breakfast.
Cons: Being able to store cold drinks would have been good.
This hotel is in a really great position for exploring. The town itself is not over run with tourism and feels really safe and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The room was satisfactory and good value. Parking was easy and the host was so helpful with this issue. A refrigerator would have been helpful but the air con was great. I would recommend this hotel as a fpgreat base for exploring.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could've been better.

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Decent but underwhelming. Seems like they need better maintenance staff; housekeeping was fine. AC functioned, but blasted out dust or mold, so we didn't feel comfortable running it. Shower temperature fluctuated wildly between scalding and frigid. Windows in the bedroom and bathroom didn't close all the way, allowing mosquitos in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel in La Spezia

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Great location, excellent staff, comfortable room and excellent breakfast
Location: Close to La Spezia Centrale station so ideal as a base of visiting the cinque Terre villages. Close to the old part of la spezia and the port.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station. On check in we were told that the weather would be bad the next day and we should do as much to day as possible so we decided to get to all 5 cinque Terre towns. He also carried one of our suitcases to the room. The breakfast was great and home made. A great hotel to be base for cinque Terre
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nancy from california

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and knowledgeable and gave us great advice on where to dine and what to do. We actually enjoyed our time out of Cinque Terre much better than in it. We took their advice and went to the neighboring towns and enjoyed it immensely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Hotel Barilla

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Wotif
Sarah,Luca & Domingico were the best hosts.. They were all so friendly and extremely helpful. The included breakfast was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Also in a great position for railway station and for catching ferry. 10 minutes walk to each. Thank you for a lovely stay Hotel Barillo.
5 out of 5
by charles from Naples

As Advertised - but a great hotel because of it.

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
This is a 2-star hotel, completely as advertised. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, making for a very good deal. If you want an Air Conditioned room, ensure you request it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very adequate hotel although quite a walk from the train station. Staff spoke English well. Rooms were clean and large by European standards. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Noisy street