Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon/arizona

This hotel not for most people over 50.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: Attitude and help with luggage.
Location: Cinque terre and all it has to offer.
Not close to town. Accessible by bus or taxi only. 200 steps down to our room and the same up. No elevators. Staff not very accommodating. Dinner was expensive and not very good. If you r young and/or not wanting to leave the hotel much then the views may compensate for the other negatives. The bar next door was Great! Friendly!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time. Our room Shangi 'La was beautiful. It had a fantastic view of the sea, outdoor patio with a table and chairs and umbrella. There were 2 double beds in their own areas so each bed space had some privacy. Our room did have steep stairs but most of their rooms do not. We had a great time relaxing, cooking and eating on the patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Relaxed Atmosphere, Great Views, Excellent Food

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Older hotel with a perfect location. World class views and excellent dining room. We'd be back in a flash.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Customer service is overrated!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: View from restaurant and food good
Cons: Layout, putting customer first will dramatically change attitudes and the experience for customers
Location: Great region
You cannot see the town from this position. Only 4 rooms have a balcony. And the view from allocated garden areas is not worth talking about. Better from the small window but had to close because looking straight at neighbours balcony which they took advantage of. Privacy with views does not exist. 2.5 hours for two drinks and one course in restaurant for dinner. Meal was good just had to wait far too long. You could see the restaurant waiter was under too much stress trying to serve a full restaurant by himself. Second attendant obviously late and not really interested. You could add a few extra euros onto price and get a reasonable service if $ the issue but you get the feeling customers are an inconvenience.
4 out of 5
by Sandra from Atlanta

Great views!!

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
The views were amazing. Great Ocean and landscape views. The only inconvenient is the office hours and the accessibility. There is public transport but there are only certain hours.
5 out of 5
by Tricia from Wiesbaden

Remarkable Italian hillside hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Unbelievable view from the hillside amidst the vinyards. Beautiful relaxing patios up and down the hillside. A lot of steps but worth every one.
4 out of 5
by Ken from Victoria

View, view, view

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful views, very friendly service, quiet and relaxing. Best to grab the bus into town, easier than finding parking or hiking back. To save hauling your bags down the stairs, just pack what you need in another bag.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Awful staff. Do not go

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was extremely unfriendly. They forgot our request to pick our luggage and, on top of that, they thought it was acceptable to hang up the phone on us and then to scream at us when we call the reception wondering about any news on the luggage request. It is a total shame that such a nice place is completely recked by such an awful staff.
3 out of 5
by gauss from seattle

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great view of the sea and the grape vine fields, privet terrace, nice restorant