Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3.5 star

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: clean ,
Cons: language english
Location: good for walker because it is out the main
clean, out the main area. language for the staff, breakfast needs to be improved,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Disappointing overall: Uncomfortable Ikea-style bed with a thin mattress, wafer-thin pillows, occasionally intermittent WiFi, refrigerator that took overnight to cool three cans of soda, a small (laptop monitor-sized) television mounted nearly 2m above the floor, and an adequate breakfast. After being told at check-in that we could enjoy the poolside breakfast, we were advised as we ate ours on the second day that because we were renting "per notte," breakfast was *not* included in the room price and that it was an extra 10€ per day. And the "free parking" mentioned on the website is free, it's true. But what's not mentioned is it is on-street public parking across the street from the hotel. The pool and patio were beautiful, but the pool is apparently unheated and its water in the third week of September was ice-cold (so cold that we considered using it to cool our drinks, since the in-room refrigerator seemed to be struggling). The hotel is gated and secure, with access for guests and staff only. Staff were somewhat conversant in English, but guests will find it helpful to be able to speak a little Italian to communicate with them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by marco, Hotel Management
Dear Lords, you have been given the opportunity to have breakfast at the pool but it is a charge since you have booked a budget room without breakfast and I mention that Ikea decor maybe you have it at your home not here at Villa Nina where the décor was made to measure and in the rule of art, dear gentlemen, it would be good that when you book you inform us about what you really want, kind regards.
5 out of 5
by Anton

Friendly staff, great view and free parking

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was kind enough to let us check-in a bit early. The pool/bar/breakfast area was very nice and clean. It's a 20min walk from the city, but the view over the city is just great and there are some restaurants in the local area, if you don't want to walk all the way to the city to eat something. There was a kitchen in the room so we could cook our own food if we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Villa Nina, Hotel Management
thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms also in the below level with no windows

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a room without window so the experience was not that good. Otherwise pretty clean. It was more or less room in the renovaited basement.
3 out of 5
by Ferruccio from San Franscisco, CA, USA

Good budget hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and staff were courteous and helpful. The location was perfect for the tourist attractions we were visiting. The free parking was needed as we had just purchased a new car in Europe. Overall, I would recommend the property for a budget hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Jun 11, 2016
This hotel has a nice view of la spezia port,but is not convenient for those who drive to here because no parking is provided,we need to park at roadside outside this villa. If you carry heave and big luaguage is also not recommend as there is no lift in this building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coledale, Australia

Nice place

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Clean and economical
Clean, comfortable place with very handy location for visiting Cinque Terre and nice outlook over the bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Italy vacay

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful stay. Only note is that the map is a little off - La Niña is actually about 5 minutes walk up the road from where it shows on the map. Any questions, just call. The lady that owns the hotel lives on site- super helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice multi-apartmant residence

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived in the afternoon. The lady who welcomed us was friendly and she gave us some hints regarding the possibilities of free parking in the city center (no need to pay parking fee on Sunday if you park on the street - observe the signs). Hotel located outside the city center which was ok for us as we had a car. Rooms and bathroom were clean. There is a mini kitchen with refrigerator with necessary utensils. It would be nice if the password for the wi-fi would be written in the room (or given at check-in). As this was not the case and I didn't ask for it at the check-in, we were not able to benefit of it. All in all nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay for the Independent Traveler with a Car

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Only stay here if you don't think you'll need help from the staff and you have a car. Villa Nina is located on a hilltop overlooking the harbor and it is very lovely. It is quiet (save the sound of passing cars and ship horns) and the rooms are very comfortable. The amenities include a kitchenette, so you can save some money by cooking a few meals. It is a hike to reach their location, takes roughly 30-40 minutes to walk there to or from the train station, keep that in mind to make sure you make the 7PM check-in time (fortunately I did by paying for a taxi). Even with the additional walking into town every day it would have been a perfect stay if it wasn't for lack of service when I wanted to check out. No one was home when I checked out at 8AM and you have to check out by 10AM. I had questions and needed help but the cars were gone, no one picked up when I called or rang the bell to the house.