Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Green Bay

Rats outside front entrance.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: See experience.
rats running around canopy structure at front entrance. Room was not cleaned last day/night of stay. Asked for towels and none available. Hallways smelled of cigarette smoke; on a non-smoking floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Aleah A., Hotel Management
Dear Pat, We would like to offer you our sincerest apologies that your stay was less than enjoyable. We are working daily to improve all issues you have reported. Thank you for your feedback and have a great day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Customer service

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I travel ALOT for work and I think this was my best experience! Mrs./Ms. Goldie was really amazing at checking me in,I will be staying at this hotel when I'm in town from now on. I didn't get to enjoy the breakfast because of my early travelings,but overall the hotel staff,location,and hotel itself was really great. Oh,only issue I had trouble with was getting in touch with the front desk. I tried from both personal and hotel phone,no one ever answered. Not a HUGE issue for me personally though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Aleah A., Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you very much for your review on our services. We are so glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Ms. Goldie is a highly valued employee here at Best Western Plus, we are glad she assisted in bringing you the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you next time. Have a great day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houma la

nice

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: the pool
Cons: pillows
Location: family lives close
we are generally pleased when we stay here. and the food is good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Horrible

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Didn't have a key to get in and out the room had to walk in the rain to get back in to the hotel kids running up and the hall tub had a big nasty Stain in it thetub was the whole the whole reason for going there to relax couldnt to fo it nasty tub i deserve a refund
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Aleah A., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to provide bus your feedback on our services. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations, we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you better next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Nice hotel not far from airport

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I needed a hotel that wasn't too far from the airport. This hotel and room was nice!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

rioom was not cleaned

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The sink and floor had not been cleaned and there was a roach in the bed when I pulled cover back no one has still given me a receipt refused to do so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Lindsey D. Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Good Morning on behalf of the staff and myself we are very sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. I'm also sorry we couldn't provide you with a receipt being that you booked and paid through a third party company they should be able to provide you with a receipt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from georgia

Fairly nice hotel. Staff very unprofessional

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Went to breakfast at 8:15, they were out of most everything. Another guest went to ask if any more food would be put out, staffer blew up at him, started cussing him out, started cussing everybody out. Using f bomb repeatedly, very unprofessional. Other guest got mad, told management, they did nothing, nobody apologized for staffer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Lindsey D. , Hotel Management
Dear Jeffrey, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any and all inconvenience you endured during your stay at our property. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you better next time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Booked 3 rooms. One of the rooms smelled so bad we could not stay in it. The only other room available was on another floor. I would notsplit up the children on different floors. We all stayed in 2 rooms. The manager refused to refund the unoccupied room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Reasonable

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: the staff
Cons: cleanliness
Location: good location
The staff is, by far, the highlight of this hotel; particularly, staff working the front desk. I was greeted with a kind, helpful smile everytime I walked through the lobby. Anything I requested was taken care of in a timely manner. The hotel was not as clean as I would have liked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Lindsey D. Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Good Morning We are glad you enjoyed out staff and that they assisted you well during your stay. Sorry we didn't completely meet your expectations. We hope to fulfill all of your expectations during your next stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arabi, GA

All very helpful and great to talk with !!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Everyone very friendly and helpful, easy to find, clean rooms and great breakfast