Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Nothing special

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We rented what was supposed to be a queen suite. Other than a small kitchenette and a recliner in the corner, that’s about it. The bed seemed more like a double and there was no couch. The hotel itself, while clean, seemed it hadn’t been maintained well. There were cracks in the caulking around the tub, the grout was very dirty, and the elevator made some strange sounds. Also, if you stay more than one night, they do not clean your room because they “respect your privacy”, so when we got back after a long day, the beds were still unmade, there were dirty glasses in the sink and the one packet of regular coffee for the coffee maker had not been replaced. The room was quiet, and the bed was comfortable, but we will opt for one of the several new hotels in Lafayette next time we come back
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Christin G., Hotel Management
Dear Nothing special, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find our accommodations and services to be to your satisfaction. We do try to achieve 100% guest satisfaction with every stay and I am sorry that we did not meet that mark during yours. Sincerely, Christin G.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay. Spacious suite

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Staff was friendly. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Christin, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are happy to hear you found our hotel to be nice, staff friendly and that you have no complaints. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Christin G.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unclean Sheets

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Cons: Wash your sheets!
The hotel seemed fine, comfortable room. But after we'd slept there one night, I noticed lipstick on the underside of one of my pillow cases. Not mine! Then, as we were checking out, I heard another woman complaining that her bed was made up and appeared to be clean, but then she discovered they were used. I think this hotel needs to sort out their cleaning service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Christin G., Hotel Management
Dear Purdue Parents, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear of your experience with your sheets. Please know that we take these complaints seriously. Clean sheets and all linens are a must in a hotel stay and anything other than that will not be tolerated. Again, I do apologize. Sincerely, Christin G.
5 out of 5
by steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by STEVE

not again

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Dirty room bedding was poor condition Dirty toilet grout on floor missing
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la fayette, IN

The room was disgusting!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I walked in and saw a hot cheetoh on the floor. Pubic hair in the tub. Disgusting! When I brought it to the attention of the front office staff, all they was sorry. Did not offer to change or clean my room. They did not even inquire as to what was wrong.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The cold cloudy pool was very disappointing.

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff was pleasant. The room was spacious and comfortable. But the pool was cold and cloudy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Chistin G., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you found the pool cloudy and cold. Please be assured our pool is kept between 82 and 84 degrees and tested daily as well as by an outside company once a week to ensure we satisfy all requirements. I apologize that this affected your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Christin G.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
the hotel needs major updating. The bed was so old you could hear the springs squeaking. The room needs a major overhaul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by candlewood, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I apologize that you were disappointed with your room. We do take pride in our facility and I apologize that you weren't made to feel as such while staying with us. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Christin G.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, functional amenities

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff is definitely top-notch.
This hotel has everything you need for an extended stay. Little kitchenette, a desk that doubles as a table...but there are no frills when it comes to added comforts (i.e. Lumpy bumpy pillows.)