Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Had 3 rooms rented: dirty towels in room, dirty floors everyday, paint flaking off ceiling, didn't change linings after we ask them to, no washer an dryer, had key problems on all 3 rooms, bed broken when arrived after they had supposably cleaned it, razor found in room after cleaned, soap left on top of shower everyday, turn my air off while we was gone to save electrical they said, didn't replace towels, rags back in room(had to go ask for them). Will never stay her again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Candy - QAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to submit your review. I have spoken with our housekeeping and maintenance mangers in regards to the issues that you have spoken of. You and I spoke of the issue you had with the bed on checkin, however, you never spoke of any of these other issues. After reviewing all accounts concerning your stay, any and all needed actions were taken.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen

Business over night.

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean and it was quiet, even though we were located just off of a busy Hwy. I enjoyed the breakfast, No meat but make your own waffles and very good microwave cheese omelets and yogurt. the only downside was the phone didn't work so I could not call for a wake up. I would stay again..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017
Kathleen, Thank you for taking a moment to submit your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit.
5 out of 5
by leroy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lady at front desk

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I did not get her information,but one of the ladies' are extremely rude and offensive. I travel ALOT for my customer service job & she was absolutely rude! I did not stay, I felt so offended by her asking rude and unnecessary questions since I am female traveling alone. She should be careful who she offends,you never know who that person is. I did call the mgr to get a refund,no one has returned my calls. I have called corporate office. The other 2 male employees were not a problem,their service was fine. I have stayed here before a few times and had okay service,not this time. I will never return here
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Candy QAS, Hotel Management
MJ, am sorry to hear of the issues you had during your stay. Unfortunately I believe that this review is meant for another property as there are no male employees at the front desk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very rude front desk

Posted Jan 5, 2017
I didn't get to enjoy my stay,lady at the front desk made me feel extremely uncomfortable. I'm a female traveling alone for work & came off as if I was in a different business. I have stayed here before a few times with no issues,but I checked in,asked for another room & was refused rudely. I will never stay at this hotel again. I left after about 15-20 mins check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Candy QAS, Hotel Management
HI Jay, I have reviewed your stay with us and found that the reason you could not be moved to another room, is that there was not another room available. We were unaware that you left at the time you have stipulated due to your room needing to be made up the next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive and clean and convenient

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice hotel. Funny thing about the description: it says it is close to Ostrich Park. There is no Ostrich. I know because it was my family that gave the land to the city for a park that was never developed. Now it's a daiquiri place that's out of business. Google needs a correction. David Ostrich
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Candy QAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dula

Close to everything

Posted Dec 7, 2016
My wife, son and I stayed here for a couple days, while we visited old friends in Lafayette. The staff were pleasant and professional. Room was comfortable. We would gladly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Candy QAS, Hotel Management
Robert, Thank you for your review. We look forward to your visit in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Rooms were very clean and hotel staff was very welcoming and kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Sales & Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, my stay for one night was average, not excellent. The continental breakfast was nice and enjoyable. The lounge area was very nice and the desk staff was extremely cordial. However, I asked for a room on the bottom floor with three beds and it was on the second floor instead. I could not take it due to the stairs and my handicapped relative. So, I settled for a downstairs room with two double beds. But, I was charged the same price as a three bed room. This I did not like.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to take a moment to thank you for submitting your review. Yes, the 2 rooms that we have with 3 beds are located upstairs. I am working with the 3rd party travel websites in the updating of descriptions for our rooms so that this kind of misunderstand does not happen again. At the time you that you checked into our property, the rate for a 3 bed room would have been significantly higher if there had been no reservation. In fact, the rate you received for the 2 bed room was even less then the rate at the time that you checked in. Our rates, like most hotels, are based on several factors, availability, demand, events and such. I do hope that you will stop by and stay with us once again