Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Quick check in, friendly, nice amenities, clean room, easy parking. For the cost, a great value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Close to I 65

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Pros: location, cleanliness
Cons: The noise from the highway
Location: Near fast-food and similar
I needed an inexpensive place to stay for one night, convenient to the Interstate. This fit the description, and was perfectly adequate; however, my room was on the side facing the Interstate, and the road noise was very loud. The facility needs better windows that could block the sound of the traffic. Otherwise, I have no complaints. I got what I paid for (I didn't expect the Four Seasons.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Good stay was under constriction but was still clean. Good location quiet rooms close to stores and gas
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Rather disappointed with the state of the hotel... one part of the hotel under a window was boarded up, carpeting torn up inside, but the lobby was pretty nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My experience!

Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Hotels
Place was comfortable and the front desk was very nice and welcoming!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2018 on Hotels
Dirty carpet, dirty bathroom, no amenities, ice cold pool but breakfast was delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not satisfied

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Place was tore up when I got there, staff looked greesy, I asked for a extra towel I was told none available and that was 7am he said would bring one up never came up!!! Very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Heather , Hotel Management
We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We sincerely hope you consider giving us another chance to make up where we fell short. Our goal is to make every stay comfortable and relaxing. Your feedback will be relayed to the rest of our staff. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Price of room since this was an emergency trip.
Location: Don't know this was a stop before Indy.
We were given a handicap room and don't know why. The bathroom facilities were good but the closet wasn't. The hotel was also under rehabilitation and I should have been told so I can make a decision whether I want to stay there or not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Heather, Hotel Management
We are very sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. It is our sincerest wish that your stay with us be enjoyable and relaxing. We truly hope you consider giving us another opportunity to correct the problems your feedback brings to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to submit it for us.
2 out of 5
by Richard W

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
Food on floor with sugar ants on it, Pool ice cold, when I complained was told management would not turn heat up, lousy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017
I am very sorry your stay did not meet with your expectations. It is our sincerest wishes that your stay be a mini vacation every time you stay with us. I will be addressing these issues with our staff and truly hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to get it right. Thank you for your feedback. Heather Swindle, GM
3 out of 5
by Amy

Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to see that your stay was not quite what you had expected. We don't want that to be the final impression we leave you with and hope you will consider allowing us to correct it in the future. Heather Swindle, GM