Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Luz

Posted May 15, 2017
My stay was amazing. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained. My room was very clean, comfortable, quiet and perfect. The pool was clean with a view of the ocean. The hotels bar and lounge area was very nice with daily happy hours and drinks of the day. 15 min walk to the town. 20 min bus ride to Lagos. I couldn't ask for a more perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Beautiful quiet location at hotel luz.. only complaint was water im swimming pool freezing.. too cold to swim.... highly recommend this location..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin

A gem

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed in many hotels across the world and this is the best. The room cleaning daily was extremely comprehensive. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. On leaving there is a large male & female shower toilet area in which to wash and change. Underground parking meant the car wasn't boiling. Beautiful sheltered gardens. Abundance of sunbeds and really comfortable cushions and good sun umbrellas. Pool very clean and decent size for size of hotel. Kitchenette very well stocked with utensils and crockery. Excellent selection of tv stations, not common even in the best of hotels. Internet facility in bar area. Lovely bar area both inside & outside nicely shaded. Excellent air conditioning. Really decent sized bathroom, not your normal European size. A nice short walk to a small compact town. One fantastic restaurant (Fortaluz), same prices as r restaurants but no other restaurant could match the cooking. Tried others and kept coming back to Fortaluz. I can't give this hotel a high enough rating. I would prefer not to as I would like to keep it an undiscovered secret.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely fquiet hotel (even during half term)

Posted Jun 1, 2016
View of the sea from the pool, friendly helpful staff, tidy comfy spacious rooms!
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Lakewood, CO

Right On!

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
We hope to come back- just loved staying here. Knowledgeable, friendly staff, convenient parking, delicious breakfast, spacious rooms - all excellent. Appreciated help paying the confusing electronic tolls on A-22. Enjoyed being a few minutes walk from Luz and proximity to historical sites where the Portuguese launched the Age of Exploration. Considered staying at Salema, but glad we chose Luz. Thanks for a great experience.
3 out of 5
by Katherine from BC, Canada

Great area to stay for shopping and sightseeing

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was a bit noisy due to construction in the area but the staff were so nice and knowledgeable about the area.
4 out of 5
by Gregory from Greg and Caz

Nice place to stay

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very nice place to stay..rooms are very spacious but the single beds are rock hard. You have a 10 to 15 mintute walk into the main centre with plenty of resturants available...very affortable accommodation.
4 out of 5
by Suzanne from Montreal Canada

Not at the center of fun but very nice!

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Twin beds a minus especially since beds made so tight but overall very clean and nice. A bit off the beaten track but close enough for an after super walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Spacious room, accommodating staffs and good service. We had an excellent ocean view room where we enjoyed breakfast there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A lovely holiday in Portugal

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Everything it was a wonderful place for a holiday.
Cons: a choice of a softer mattress, although a mattress topper was provided.
Location: A very quite location with lots of lovely places to visit.
The apartments were spotlessly clean, the staff were very helpful and the swimming pool was delightful. we would recommend this place to anyone who wants a self catering holiday, our apartment had a small kitchen diner with a microwave oven and hob and a fridge. We could walk out of our room straight down to the pool which was surrounded by palm trees.