Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely apartment and surroundings

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Spent a very enjoyable 10 days here in early June. Resort seemed very quiet - perhaps people had been put off by the construction work that was mentioned on the website, though it didn't affect us. Apartment was well equipped, spacious, clean and modern, with good air-con. We were located at the far end of the resort, which seemed to have the nicest gardens and pools (all well maintained). Hiring a car is essential as there is no shop and only one restaurant, but we were using the resort as a base for exploring the area anyway, rather than staying to play golf. It's only 5-10 mins drive to Lagos, Praia Da Luz and other beaches. Resort also has an indoor pool with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi (all of which were nice and well maintained) and the spa (which we didn't make use of). Overall we were really pleased to have chosen the resort and felt it was good value.
5 out of 5
by Paulus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L1Z 1K6

Great, clean and very spacious!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The large amount of clean space available. The indoor pool. The well kept grounds. The near location to sites (by car).
Cons: The site mentions that the outdoor pools are heated, actually, they are not. The indoor pool is fantastic though.
Location: The hotel is only 40 minutes to the west side of Portugal, 15 minutes to Lagos and about 30 minutes to Faro. You could even drive to Seville, Spain.
Very spacious, clean and new location. You actually feel like you're in your own house rather than crammed into a hotel. Staff are all very friendly. You do need a car to get here however car rental opportunities in Portugal are very affordable and I would suggest to see the most of the area to obtain one.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Orpington

Lovely Week

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful place and spotlessly kept. Obviously helps if you like golf but not essential. Good for quick access to resorts
1 out of 5
by Eric from California

Service mishap cost us 80 Euros

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Our family stayed 4 nights in a 2 room apartment. The unit was new and fairly clean. The furniture/amenities were adequate, but not great. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, and one of us even found a sharp pin in the bed! The noise level from other units was high. My main problem is the resort cost us 80 Euros: We pre-paid for an early train, and had to return our rental car the previous evening. We asked the front office to arrange a taxi to pick us up in the morning to catch our train. There are no phones provided in the units, or any way to contact the outside world. Being foreigners we had no Portuguese cell phone service. The taxi service reception arranged for us never came to pick us up, so we missed our train and lost 80 Euros. I had to walk 1.2 Km in the dark (the streetlights were broken) to get to the clubhouse and found a random employee who called us another cab so we didn't have to wait around any longer. I understand the hotel isn't responsible for the taxi service, but if the resort is going to arrange a taxi for any guest, I believe it is reasonable to expect that they should use a reliable service or they shouldn't offer to arrange a taxi at all. They refused to compensate us in any way for making arrangements for us that did not provide the services promised, costing us 80 Euros, and we lost half a day of sightseeing in Porto. I am very disappointed in the way the management handled this matter after repeated attempts to resolve.
3 out of 5
by Mairead from Cork

Boavista Golf and Spa Resort is not a hotel

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
On paper this is an excellent hotel but the reality is that it is not a hotel - it is a booking agent for villas within a Golf and Spa resort. There's no 24 hour reception, there's no resident bar for a late night drink, the facilities offered are very good but only available while the clubhouse and spa are open. Overall this resort has a lot to offer but there are a number of things that need to be worked on. My biggest issue was the appalling level of customer service provided from the booking manager in Careways. Don't bother making a complaint to him, he doesn't want to know and will not accept responsibility for anything. Other problems I have with Boavista are that the beds are very uncomfortable, there is no soundproofing in the apartments - you can hear everything next door and to top it all off our villa was located next to a building site. On the plus side the apartment was a good size and had everything we needed - my husband was especially please by the number of TV channels available. The swimming pools and changing facilities are top-notch. Our son had a golf lesson which he really enjoyed. Location wise it is half way between Lagos and Luz so you can visit both towns. I can't say that I will ever return to Boavista, there are something's I would let slide but poor customer service from the first person I met just took the shine of the overall resort for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Good but inconvenient

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful place
Cons: Should put telephone and some kinds of transportation like golf cart.
Location: If you have car it is good but otherwise inconvenient
Very good but there is no telephone and no transportation facility.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Glasgow

Nearly very good.

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Although the apartment was very good, we had a problem with a drainage smell. One bathroom was unusable and the other required quite a lot of air freshener. Despite advising staff 3 times of the problem it was not resolved.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Twickenham

Lovely place to stay

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We booked a week away to get some rest, spend time in the sunshine and for my husband two play some golf. The Boavista compound is lovely, very well set up and run. We ate in the restaurant and it was delicious. There are large indoor and outdoor swimming pools to use and the local beaches are gorgeous. A car is a must.
4 out of 5
by Miss_CLM from Mississauga, ON

Good location outside of Lagos

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Overall the resort villa and the private pool and facilities were excellent. Dinner at the golf club was delicious although it was a smaller menu (snack menu). Only one small negative was that initially our coffee maker and TV were not working so we advised the Careways office. Unfortunately they did not come and fix them that day (although we did get the TV working as all the remotes had dead batteries) so unfortunately the next morning we had to get takeaway coffees at the clubhouse. When we asked them again to fix the coffee maker they advised that maintenance is busy and doesn't always have time to get to all the clients. Fortunately they did come and replace the coffee maker so we did finally get the service we expected.