Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice centrally located hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Room was nice with full shower.
Location: Main activity in the area is wine tasting. Need to either use a guide or make reservation at wineries.
Hotel is located in the center of the old walled city. Hotel staff were very nice and helpful. Parking is very limited (there is no specific hotel parking). There are several free parking lots within an easy walking distance (a few hundred yards). Need to drop luggage at a gate to the walled city and take car to parking lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Enclosed town experience

Posted May 13, 2017
Not a chain hotel or a large city experience. Friendly, modern facility in a centuries old Hill town. Interesting redevelopment of space facing the main town square/intersection. Good breakfast, lobby bar, dining room. Nice reading lounge. Only complaints are the shower leaked and the hearing was difficult to adjust. However, really enjoyed a modern facility in a very historic setting. Very nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitefish, MT

A great hotel!!!

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Everything! The room, the staff, the food and the location.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Winery tours in Rioja.
An unbelievable hotel in the beautiful walled city of Laguardia. Unlike other European hotels, our room was huge! The whole hotel, including our room, was unbelievably clean. The staff was always willing to help. Roberto, who worked at the front desk and was our waiter at the restaurant at night, was outstanding. And the food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was excellent too, although a little pricey for dinner (but worth it). We loved Laguardia and we enjoyed taking in a few winery tours in the Rioja region. Highly recommend this hotel, and Laguardia, if you plan to visit wine country.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Classic Olde World

Posted Oct 19, 2016
A gracious group of staff made our stay so comfortable. They assisted us with appointments for winery tours and lunch. When I asked to mail a post card, not only did they mail it but they provided the postage stamp as well. The breakfast staff were prompt getting our eggs and coffee custom made for us. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the wine cave below. I'd definitely recommend this hotel within the ancient walled city of Laguardia, La Rioja Spain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy and not helpful

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
I was very disappointed in this hotel. The rooms were noisy .... Every room either faced the plaza or an interior common room. I had trouble sleeping both nights due to noise from the street. The staff told us that nobody ever complained about the noise but when looking at other websites, that is not true. During the day it was not quiet as many people congregate in the plaza below. Only one person at the desk spoke good English and she was less than helpful in trying to find us places to taste wine (everything seems to need to be booked ahead in Rioja). For the price of the room €200+ it was terrible value and I have walked away from this hotel very tired!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay in a quaint old town

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
In general, this hotel provided a high standard of accommodation - the room was a good size and was furnished to a very good standard. Also the restaurant was very good both in terms of the quality of food and of the excellent service. The only significant negative for me is that the position of the shower in the room gives a lack of privacy which may be a concern to some. One minor quibble - we had trouble opening the door to the room as this required excess force to be used in turning the key. Having said this, the staff were very helpful in sorting this out; they were also very friendly and helpul in general.