Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Right across the street from the beach.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Right across from the ocean.
Cons: Lower the rates! This hotel is over priced. next time I will stay higher up toward the "5" freeway in San Clemente and take an uber everywhere and sti
Location: Thisi hotel is right across from the beach. there were a few places nearby within walking distance at night---otherwise you must go to Dana Marina.
This is certainly a nice hotel due to its location. There were loud people next door, i.e. there was more than just one or two people staying in the room, which is not good. However, I can see why people would need to share the cost of this hotel. It is well over 200.usd a night which is far more than it is worth. There is no pool, only a tiny jacuzzi. The hotel surpised me with a $14.00 resort fee, which the receptionist told me was only for non-members of Best Western, i.e. Gold Expedia members like me! What does this resort fee pay for? Breakfast! and Parking? There is no pool or weight room or sauna. Only the tiny jacuzzi. The taxes for this particular property were high, bringing my total to almost 280.00 USD for a single person and one night. It isnt a bad hotel, its just that i only pay about 100-150 usd wherever i go because anymore than that and you should be getting a luxury experience. This Hotel is just a decent place right across from the beach. The staff was nice, and the parking was safe . . . but unless you pack 3-4 people into your room, like my neighbors did, your overpaying for one or two persons
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
My mom was the one that stayed there and she loved her experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and grill/bar

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Decent hotel, but needs some updating in the rooms. The carpet seemed really old and worn and had a bit of musty smell. There were a lot of ants (didn't bite) in our bathroom. Our "ocean view" was not good and you could only see the ocean if you were standing at the front door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Wonderful stay

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great location, big room with ocean view. Fernando, the owner was so kind and helpful😃 We will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Train Station

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: location was ok if you like climbing stairs over highway and train tracks to reach the noisy beach
Very noisy hotel train goes by every half hour until 2 am, no sound proofing in the rooms Train sounds like its 10 feet away. The breakfast was poor, cereal waffle blah, blah, blah. Coffee plain no taste. save your money not worth it not even close, room was dingy and dark bed saggy smelled not so good. Waaay OVERPRICED!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately the facts you describe lead us to believe you did not stay with our hotel. All of the rooms have double pane windows for sound proofing, the train is only a short Amtrak which passes without a sound, and the bridge/ stairs do not go over the highway, only the train tracks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Nice location , walked to beach, nice staff

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We had s wedding to attend and were able to check in early, very nice staff and great roomy rooms
1 out of 5
by Christiana

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
What a complete dump! The room was filthy and the little old man who ran the place was so grumpy! The breakfast was a joke and there was no beach access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
We are sorry to hear you had such a bad experience at our hotel, this is not the impression we like to leave our guests. Our hot breakfast is comprised of all major branded items such as jimmy dean sausages, Yoplait yogurt, Raisin Bran, etc. A basic distance search on google maps shows beach access 500 ft to the north via a bridge and 1,000 ft to the south at the traffic light. Our front desk is always available to assist you in the future.
4 out of 5
by Debra

Stop along the Coast

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed only one night on our trip down the coast. The hotel was a nice beach hotel, the room was large and comfortable. The staff was very nice and they served a delicious breakfast. My only complaint was that there was a train track between the hotel and the beach which made it difficult to access the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very attentive to guests very friendly atmosphere

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay there quiet very attentive to guests
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere. I would stay here again.
Quiet area without a lot of hustle bustle. Walking distance to beach and restaurants.