Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Great location everything else below average. Great area hotel is in need of update.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Danielle Calderon Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dana Point

Ok place, but there's better

Posted Dec 30, 2017
We had a room with two queen beds. As my back was hurting, we slept in separate beds. When we awoke, I was fine, but my wife had bug bites on her right arm, left shoulder, and rear. Not the end of the world, but something we've never experienced in decades of traveling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Danielle C Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Western Dana Point

Posted Dec 28, 2017
I stayed at this hotel last year and had a nice stay. This year was different however. The sink stopper didn't work, the TV remote didn't work, the bed was old and had "divots" in it. The other room we rented had the same bed issue and also had a random vibrating/humming noise coming from the vent which would wake you up at night. On top of that, they charged an additional "resort fee" of $14.00 per day. When I check out, they inadvertently provided me a copy of the bill detail that was paid by Expedia which also showed a "resort fee" of $14.00. When I asked about it, they took the detail away from me and refused to give me a copy of it stating it was between them and Expedia and to get my copy from Expedia. Long story short, I think I was double charged for the resort fee which doesn't make me happy. I will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Danielle C Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremont CA

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Staff and soft beds
Location: Beach and harbor right there.
Owners lovely people and very attentive view is spectacular.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Danielle, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Danielle C Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-by-the-Sea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice central location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Its location, and the room was nice and big, tastefully decorated and very clean!
Cons: I was bummed when I tried to go get coffee the next morning and nobody was in the main office/breakfast area until almost 8:00 a.m.
Location: The beach! Great restaurants in San Clemente and Dana Point!
This is a very nice hotel on PCH. I enjoyed the MetroLink and Amtrack trains going by... it's definitely part of the coastal experience in SoCal... there is a walkway just down the street so you can safely cross over to the beach, and there are tons of great restaurants nearby!
3 out of 5
by Ricardo

Disappointed

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is a regular hotel not a resort. Why are you charging a resort fee? It doesn't even have a pool!
5 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Late night in Dana Point

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Very humid room; bathroom light cover left off on counter; dripping condensate from a/c line into sink by one bed; limited choices for breakfast. Pleasant staff and easy check-in and out.