Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feedback

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pleasant ,but brief, stay at a facility with as good location and a wonderful breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skokie, IL

Very nice hotel and convenient!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I like it, good hotel with very friendly staff. Not too far from the beachs: beach for suffers, beach for swimmers. Our kids so excited and happy with the beaches, that's the most important! Recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Very nice holiday. Room a little cramped. Could do with modernising
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great Location for Heading to Catalina Island

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: We were only there 2 nights but it was great for getting to Catalina Island on the early ferry.
We spent 2 nights at this hotel during our recent 16 day California Coastal Adventure. It was less than a 5 min drive from the pier where the Catalina Express leaves from. They serve a nice breakfast and the staff were extremely friendly. While finishing up breakfast they stopped and chatted with us and asked about our trip. The front desk staff recommended a great pizza place that delivered to the hotel and had delicious pizza! The only down side was that through expedia I booked early - like 6 mos ahead and I requested a 3rd floor room with a balcony & view of the ocean for my 50th birthday as I was celebrating during my stay. The front desk staff said they knew nothing about my request and blamed expedia. They said if I phoned them directly they would have accommodated my request. Yet my confirmation through expedia said no need to call, my request had been relayed. Instead we ended up with a 2nd floor room with no view and no balcony so that was disappointing!!! Make sure you phone for a room with a view & balcony!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Great location to 3 different beaches in area. The staff was wonderful and I loved the size of the room and the fact it had a balcony. My only issues are the breakfast area was very small and not sure why I had to pay $10 / night for parking. Would definitely recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely but needs a few changes

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The room was lovely
Cons: The elevator situation.
We had a good time at this hotel, we only stayed for two nights. Thought location was great close to beaches and shops. Down side for us was we felt the elevator was too small for the size of hotel, it was always very busy and we seemed to have to wait for ages so usually ended up taking the stairs. On several occasions the lift was full of staff and their trolleys, feel they should have a different elevator to guests! if we had stayed longer this would have been very annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Great stay - friendly staff - would recommend.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Suggestion of some really good restaurants in surrounding area.
Location: Loved the location - close to harbor.
The only thing I found different from other hotels....if we wanted our room cleaned, I understood there would have been a charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Walking distance to doheny beach

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The pool was heated...to 80 degrees. That's not very warm unless compared to the ocean and it's extremely small. However, it's location is great. .4 miles to Doheny Beach and close to the wharf for other activities. There is free trolley service most of the summer but we didn't use it so I can't comment. The breakfast was ok. They were low or out of items most of the time so that was frustrating. Would I stay there again? For sure. The location makes up for the little inconveniences and the rooms are very clean and modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Location, Location, Location...its a winner!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We had a family reunion which meant we needed space to talk and easy access to areas to meet. We had double queen beds and still had enough room for my sister who was in a wheel chair, to move around in our room. The hotel also has a sizeable sitting area off the main hallway on each floor for small groups to meet and talk. This worked well for our talks with cousins. The hotel is also in walking distance of restaurants, the beach, and marina. We pushed my sister in her wheel chair to the beach, marina, and local shops. It was great exercise, easy walk on paved sidewalks from beach to marina, and a fun way to meet people along the way. My niece and I took a jazzercise (exercise) class at the marina on Monday at 9:00am which was also fun. We had spotted the class during one of our walks. By car the hotel is close to the freeway and easy to get to from the airport. We had a great time and for the money this is a very good deal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was the worst hotel room i have ever stayed in.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The air conditioner was so loud every time it came on it woke us up the jet bathroom sucked my leg hip area in leaving a bruise room did not feel clean will nit stay there again and we travel to dana point often. Called and left message for manager to call me back. Yesterday. Was told i would receive a call that evening Still no call
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by P Callan, General Manager, Hotel Management
It is rare that I challenge a guest on their comments, but I DID call you back on both the phone #s you left with our front desk and left detailed messages on both - including my personal cell phone # - so you could call me back at your convenience, rather than just during my office hours. With that said, if you experienced any discomfort from the tub jets, I am truly sorry. After your report to the desk, we immediately checked the tub, and the whirlpool jets and drain were working perfectly. Since the room was already occupied we advised the new guest of your concerns and they reported to us the next day that they had no issues with the tub either. I'm also sorry that you felt the air conditioner was loud ... the units are large and definitely make a humming noise when running, but there was nothing mechanically wrong with the a/c either. It is always our hope that every guest leaves the Marina Shores 100% satisfied ... obviously we didn't meet your expectations, but I felt it important to clarify the issues, both for you and any other readers.