Ratings based on 1,013 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough I guess

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Bath and body works products
Cons: Cook fresh eggs and potatoes. It is not that hard to do.
A little dated. Don't be fooled by the "free breakfast". It is all prepackaged, precooked eggs, etc. It really is gross
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

PLEASANT STAY

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, location, cleanliness, and price.
Cons: The carpet needs to be replace to make it more appealing.
I picked this hotel based on reviews and we were not disappointed at all! Diane at the front desk was excellent and very helpful, the staff at the little cafeteria were also very pleasant hand helpful. If I ever have the need to stay in the area for sure we will consider staying at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Comfortable bed and pillows

Posted Nov 22, 2017
My husband and I enjoyed staying the hotel very much. Especially, the bed mattress and pillows were so comfortable, which are very important for us. All of hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Only thing i was wishing is the coffee at the breakfast was a little weak for dark roast coffee lover. It would be nice if there are choice of dark roast and medium roast coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona, Arizona

Nice Hotel, convenient location, excellent staff

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The staff here is competent, genuine, and accommodating. I felt very at home and welcomed. Rooms and common areas, clean and comfortable.
Cons: The hotel rooms, lobby, and breakfast area are recently updated, clean, and very nice. Other areas are to be updated soon.
I was greeted with smiles and friendliness. The location is central to Dana Point and couldn't be more convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Good location just old hotel should be gutted especially rooms only so much paint can go so far
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona, Arizona

Here on business. Excellent central location

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The bed. Very comfortable. And the competent staff
I arrived after a long day of travel. Everyone including the hotel manager was welcoming and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice experience

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Very nice for a pet friendly hotel.
Location: Near to the harbor and nice restaurants.
For a pet friendly hotel, it was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk, breakfast staff, cleaning staff were all very nice. I will like to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent

Posted Nov 7, 2017
The hotel is beautifully located near the main Dana Point Harbor, beautiful beaches, parks and lots of restaurants! The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, even upgrading and changing my room upon request two times during my three day stay! The breakfast buffet had a wonderful variety of options hot and cold and friendly staff refilling foods selections promptly! The rooms have an ocean view, are spacious with comfortable beds and deep jacuzzi tubs! Would definitely stay there again and or recommend to friends and family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Parking tight but nice location and great value.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Nice hotel and staff. Close to everything including a park above the harbor. Very picturesque area and great beaches. Would highly recommend this hotel with its friendly staff and amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Checked in and they had changed our room reservation. At first they blamed us and accused us of lying then we brought them the physical booking info. After that they apologized and took responsibility. However, they were still unwilling to give us our original room. Instead we were sent to the room they gave us only to find someone's bag in the room. So we walk back to the front desk with all our luggage unsure of what was going on. They clarified that the room was ours and there shouldn't be any bags in there. So we told them to go check for themselves. After finding this random bag they were still unwilling to change our room and simply assured us that we were safe and no one else had access to our room. Worst check in experience we have ever had. Originally they had promised that after our first night they would be able to get us into the room we had initially booked. However, that did not happen. The only saving grace was that they gave us our first night free after all this chaos. Still that didn't mean much when we didn't even get to stay in the room we booked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Peter Callan, General Manager, Hotel Management
Had we known that you were still upset after we tried to remedy the situation, I would have been glad to sit down with you and discuss what else could be done to make your stay satisfying. The reservations you made through Expedia were for a handicapped access room. I understand that you just wanted a room with a king bed, but there were no standard kings or king suites available for those dates, so the only type of king showing on the Expedia site was the ADA room. As it happened, there was a handicapped guest in house guest that wanted to extend through the date you were checking in. The mistake we made was in changing your reservation to a two-room suite in order to accommodate this guest without calling you first. A hotel should never alter a guest's reservation - even if the change in room type is considered an upgrade - without contacting the guest first. This was our initial mistake and I am truly sorry it was made. After you checked in, we discovered that the suitcase you found in your room belonged to a guest that had moved to a different room earlier in the day. They didn't realize they had left it behind until they returned from their day's activities. At no time were we "unwilling" to work with you - the hotel was simply sold out that weekend so we were extremely limited in the alternate accommodations we could offer. The desk staff also didn't promise that you could move into your preferred room type the following day. We said we would try to, but it turned out there were no last minute cancellations. I am extremely sorry for your discomfort and displeasure. Fortunately, problems like this are extremely rare.