Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Classy, comfortable, romantic, super clean and beautiful B&B!
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Peaceful

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Peaceful stay with a beautiful view.
5 out of 5
by Adam

Great Location, Cali Coastal Touches

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in a nice, spacious room with a nice view down into the marina and onto the ocean. The hotel sits high on a cliff and provides nice perspective directly to the ocean views. The lobby is clean with a bit of coastal styling, and there is a breakfast eating area. We chose to eat on the back patio and overlook the ocean. Located at the end of a quiet street, you are 10 minutes walking distant to fun shops and restaurants in Dana Point, and also down to the marina where you can rent paddle boards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful experience

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on CheapTickets
Great hotel. Wonderful view. Friendly staff. Best free breakfast I have ever had. Lovely wine offerings on the house in the evening. Will definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Charming Scenic Overlook in Dana Point

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The Blue Lantern Inn is perched high up on a bluff overlooking the Dana Point Harbor and Pacific Ocean. I was very pleased to find a very comforting, spacious room with partial views of the Dana Point Harbor outside of my windows. The Inn's staff were incredibly pleasant, informative and efficient at all points throughout my overnight stay and I was very pleased with the complimentary breakfast buffet for registered guests upon waking up in the morning. There are several very nice restaurants a short walk away the finest in my opinion which I dined at The Chart House. Towards the hotel amenities I was saddened to learn that The Blue Lantern Inn had no inner courtyard or pool area. However, there is a private terrace with seating and lounges at the back side of the Inn to take in the stellar views of the Pacific Ocean and Dana Point Harbor below. My one regret is that I didn't pay a little more for one of the nicer rooms above this private terrace area with individual balconies on the 2nd and 3rd floors. I would definitely stay again at the Blue Lantern Inn in Dana Point when another opportunity presents itself and I'm already speaking very highly of this hotel with my family and friends.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Paradise

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Will be back many, many times in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Breakfast sampling is a must

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Within walking distance to several excellent restaurants Chart House and Jacks, as well as Coastal Kitchen were my favs.
The view of the bay from my room was killer. I had a fireplace and a jetted soaker tub. The staff was so welcoming and they had a wine reception in the evening. The breakfast was absolutely phenomenal - each day a surprise from crostini blueberry bread pudding to glazed French toast. From your room in the AM you could smell the bacon cooking - yum! What a hidden gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
The inn is gorgeous! Dana Point is relaxing and we will be going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a wonderful stay

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Place was horrible, between the AC units outside our room and the city deciding to cut the trees outside our window that day at 7 am not a place I plan to go again. The bathroom was dangerous with the high wall bath tube and no hand rails to grab, slippery floor. And tube The breakfast was also terrible. Everyone's visit is different, recommend you don't get room 309
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expectations exceeded! Wonderful property-amazing

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Highly recommend. These people care about their property and their guests.