Ratings based on 1,312 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the Marina

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent
Cons: Overall condition of hotel is aged and in area of repair or replacement, such as the sliding screen doors
Great location on the Dana Point Marina with many great eating options nearby. Our room openned up onto a courtyard type area. Also found that the smoking options for my wife were much better as compared to many other properties in this area to include entire communities of this Orange County area. It was a separate area with seating in close proximity to the room, but removed from imposing on others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel right by the Marina

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Cons: Better toilet seat - the one they are using slides around. More space in the bathroom to put personal things...
Was very pleasant... View of the Marina was nice...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, helpful staff

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Wonderful time at the Marina Inn. Just a short walk to the beach and a great little coffee/breakfast spot (Coffee Importers). The ladies at the front desk were very accommodating. Some parts of the room were old (faucets, flooring etc) but that didn't bother us as everything was clean and in good working condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Wonderful little "sleeper" of a hotel.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I've stayed here on numerous occasions and it's always been very pleasant. Not fancy, but clean and quiet in a prime location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula ca

Close to the beach and harbor

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: In the Harbor
Cons: The beds, more lighting inside rooms and more comfortable beds.
Location: Beach, harbor, restaurants, shopping
The staff was first class, the room was something else, the remote for the TV was missing and after a phone call it was taken care of, the room was OK not enough lighting so kinda dark and the beds were stiff as a board and very very uncomfortable. There were a lot of people coming and going throughout the night and then our "neighbor" started talking real loud on the phone at 5:45 in the morning for about 35 min. Mid week it will probably be a somewhat quieter place to stay and maybe the king size beds are more comfortable (we had double Queen beds in our room).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean rooms, helpful staff.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great place to stay right at the harbour. Beaches close, in two different directions. Large choice in area for eating, both variety and price wise. Room was clean on arrival and kept that way during our stay by the staff. Booking was pricey but there was a lot going on the weekend we stayed. All in all a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great location!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: See abovd
Cons: The pool area is very plain and basic. A tiki bar and nice atmosphere around the pool would keep a lot of the dollars being spent elsewhere, there.
Location: Beautiful marina setting with shops and really good restaurants very close by
Within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, and local attractions. Nice clean grounds and rooms. Pool area was a little drab, but there were so many other things to do close by, it really wasn't an issue for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the marina

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great location, worn somewhat. Needs renovation and a its own bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel right on the harbor.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Perfect to stay here if you're spending a weekend at Doheny Beach. Perfect if you're in Laguna or other close beach cities. Took a stroll on the harbor at night-- wonderful. A lovely, relaxing stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Key West, FL

Crying for some physical attention...

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Staff who tried diligently to assist guests.
Cons: Cleanliness, Worn out curtains and rugs. Non-working appliances (TV and ice machine on my floor).
Location: Wonderful beach, upscale shops, spectacular marina with 2500 boats!
If the owners would pay attention to carpeting, curtains, and thorough cleaning (other than tub, bathroom sink and toilet, plus the bedding was immaculate), it would raise their "score" immeasurably. I picked up the room phone to call the front desk, and it seemed like it had not been cleaned in years. Plus my TV did not work the entire 2-day stay. The staff were entirely pleasant and helpful, and the location is fabulous. Would I book it again...very iffy.