Ratings based on 1,088 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kc

Not on par with other doubletrees

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Front desk service ridiculously slow and not all that friendly. Rest of staff super nice. Room was clean and comfortable. They had a fire in the restaurant/bar a few days before our stay and was not notified which really sucked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Bad experience

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Nice hotel, nice view and good location. Some of the staff not so good. Was billed twice for the same stay. Contacted the hotel. Not helpful about the double charges. Also had a charge for $28 to my card. The staff member told me they had not made any charges to my card of $28. Had to contact my bank to dispute charges. Will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Great location, could use a little improvement

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location, on site restaurant (see above), overall cleanliness of the property, and overall friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Bathroom functionality. It looks good, but is very tight.(see above).
Location: Across the street from Doheney State Beach. Dana Point Harbor has great restaurants and shops. Easy access to beaches, freeways.
Check in was good, staff member friendly and helpful. Room is nice sized, decor could be updated, but for a beach resort it was nice. Everything was in good working order. Bathroom was very tight, I don't think 2 people could be in it at the same time. It was nicely updated, but not very functional (bath taps at the far end, glass door hits toilet, etc).Great view(right across the street from Doheney State Beach) but balcony was a little cramped for more than 1 or 2 people. Valet staff was wonderful (you might as well use valet because the cost is the same for self park and space it tight), had directions printed for most immediate area attractions. My major caution would be restaurant speed of service. The food was excellent, and the staff was friendly (for the most part). If you have young kids or are in a hurry, this might not be your best choice. Other than the breakfast buffet it appeared that all menu items were prepared upon order- great for the meal, but you have to wait a bit. The roof top bar has a great view, live music on Friday evening when I was there, but the wait/bar staff was not friendly and I waited over an hour for an appetizer and got a poor excuse and no apology, nor did I get an offer of a fresh drink. I overheard others make similar observations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice beach Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: So close to the beach, staff was nice, nice lobby
Cons: just had a little smell, but only in the hallway
Location: Right across from Doheny beach, there was a campground and lots of stores and restaurants near by.
What I loved most is that is was close to the beach, just a walk right across the street. The hotel had a little weird smell and we had a back facing room which was nothing great at all but the front side is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Great Location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We stayed here over 4th of July Holiday. The staff is awesome! Location...perfect!! Had my 4 teenage grandkids with me, hotel has everything you need for day at the beach, bicycles to get around. Also, convenient Trolley pick up right in front of Hotel. We had a Great vacation here!!!! Highly recommend!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Bathroom too small. In a bad location. Parking $25 a night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay for the family

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I stayed here with my two kids. This was a spacious room with two TVs and a fridge, which is very convenient since my baby still drinks milk at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinole CA

Nice place and close to the beach

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Good service, clean, confortable,not expensive.Only have problem in the bathroom after take showers be flooded don't drain we need pull out all water with a bucket 😡
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible stay

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Did not have our reserved room/did not care to accommodate/ rude entitled staff/ even hotel housekeeping treats you bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Right on the beach

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Location to Dana Point Harbor
Cons: Parking lot was very congested.
Location: Harbor tours, whale watching, wine cruise are some of the attractions close by. Paddle boarding and kayaking too.
We stayed for one night. The room was spacious and comfortable. We loved the Longboard Lounge on the 4th floor. It has a great view of the ocean and a fire pit. A great way to top off an evening. The cookies were a welcome indulgence.