Ratings based on 1,046 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel close to shops and the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2017
This was our second stay at this hotel. We love the roof top bar and the live music in the lobby was great great way to finish off the night. We will be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Carpet upgrade!
Location: Beach is 1/2 block away, lots of good restaurants, take the trolley, it's a good way to get around.
We spent three nights here to attend a wedding in the area. It is in a very good location. Lots of restaurants in walking distance, and beach access is a just down the block. As mentioned in all the reviews, the rooms are small. Ours wasn't too bad and was better than the room our friends stayed in. We were in 105 (our floors were wood, theirs was some old (old) damp carpet (205). Our room was also bigger. It was really okay and suited us just fine. If you want to sleep past 7:30 a.m., you might request a room on the other side of the hotel? The trash truck showed up each morning about that time. Even the noisy air conditioner didn't drown it out. No problem here, we were up earlier than that.... We ate in both the lobby restaurant (pretty noisy!) and the rooftop. They were also fine, and we enjoyed them both. There is a $17/daily "resort" fee. This covered things such as wifi, parking, (which if I had been driving, I never would have parked there.... way too scary for me! I closed my eyes while my husband maneuvered), use of a gym (across the street, I think....), and breakfast (which was good). So, this makes your room rate not quite the bargain you may have thought! It's an older hotel which could do with a new carpet, and still keep it's "charm". Location, location, location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This was my second time staying here. Love everything about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are TINY.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The standard room is TINY. Hardly any room to sqeeze by the bed. The young front desk girl who checked us in was rude. Our swamp cooler didn't work and our room was soo hot, we slept with the windows open but had to hear drunk people screaming all night walking by. Our mini fridge also didn't work so no cold beverages for us. Paid $350 a night and it was definately not worth the experience here. Stay somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county

Closet for a room

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We knew coming in this was a small room. There is not enough room to walk and get out of the bed on the wall side. Yes there is AC, but it's this huge box between the bathroom sink and the fridge, it works ok, but it is not central air. Back to the fridge the ac unit blocks the fridge door from opening, and I am not sure where you plug the fridge in. Be sure you have ear plugs if your on the third floor, or even the second floor. The rooftop area is great, but extremely loud at night. And where the lobby is if u can find it, there is a band, a bar and dancing. If checking in later it's a problem. There is a ocean view, not a Beach view. The breakfast was good and the staff are very friendly. This was a Birthday get away for my wife and I. We love Laguna so we were not in our room that much. But just a warning when you come back after 9pm you will hear the rooftop big mouths. Bring ear plugs, it's a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murphy, TX.

Perfect hotel for couples

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Great vacation getaway unique rooms love the surf decorated room. You can walk right out the front to great restaurants and shops. Easy Beach acces will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE Coast

Comfy room, close to the beach.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Good CA coast atmosohere. Friendly staff and guests. View of ocean from the room was great. Food options for meals were great. I liked the easy to use small safe. The only issue was losing partial power twice that affected outlets in half the room including the AC. Staff fixed problem right away, but like i said had to do it twice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

4th of July 2017

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Close to my son's work place
Cons: Management needs to be more considerate, respectful when it comes to their guest and their property...
Location: I wanted to shop.. Love the look of all the stores
First: I witness lot attended hit another guests car and drove away I turned info into front desk. Second: My husband woke up with a allergic reaction to something and rushed him to the ER in Laguna around 12:30- 1 he was transferred to Mission Viejo hospital with a stay overnight.. So really not a great turn out for our stay.. I gave a 3 for Overall Rating due to found out the guest who's car was hit the manager made an excuse for not contacting him regard to his car. He found out due to the note I left him.. FYI don't park in there lot Hotel Staff a 4 the two young ladies at check in & check out where friendly and so were staff members that I encountered. Room Comfort a 3 due to it was an accessible room- when taking a shower even with a towel on floor it was very slippery
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to report that the incident was resolved with us reaching out to the parking company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Holiday Getaway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: See Above
Cons: Beach Towels
Location: Heart of Laguna. Perfect.
We decided to do something different this year, and break our tradition of always doing the same thing on the 4th of July. Our beach get away at the La Casa Del Camino was so awesome! Nice and very helpful front desk staff during our entire stay. Our room was the best one, had a balcony, which I think was one of the few rooms with one? Great location and roof top bar with best view in Laguna, and then you can walk to your room afterward?? Can't get better than that! We didn't get to the restaurant and bar downstairs, but looked totally fun and was rockin! If you want the total Laguna experience, you definitely need to stay here; just short walk to the beach. The only negative I would say was the raggedy beach towels the provide, as I was thinking big luxurious towels for how nice the hotel is!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much Susan! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque,nm

Great experience!!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The nicest hotel i have stayed in. Staff was nice and upgraded my wife and I for our honeymoon. Room was great, bed was comfortable, close to a clean non crowded beach. Wonderful experience!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us and our staff!