Ratings based on 1,069 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Smelled like death

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hallway smelled like pee. The room smelled like death- musty, sour, gross. Dirty carpets. Minuscule room- only space for a bed. The room looked out at an alley with pipes right in front of the window. A jackhammer was being used next door. It was horrible. We could not stay there or our vacation would have been ruined. We went to the Holiday Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Very dated hotel & tiny rooms. Location was good, but wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Proximity to town. Felt very much like a quaint European hotel or in Puerta Vallarta, Mexico
Cons: Air conditioning units.
Location: Main beach, art galleries and Sawdust festival.
Very good. Air conditioning units were challenging, but rooftop bar and restaurant were both excellent as was the staff. Would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Beacon for Laguna Beach

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location; the quality of a beautiful historical site made modern without destroying essential attributes of age.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Laguna Beach is where, were I starting over, I'd hope to live (not in the rich snooty areas, however) right downtown as close to this landmark as poss
All went as good as it gets: the restaurant is terrific. I summed it up in a general 5 star review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wa

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Great restaurant and bar. Close to beach. Great view from rooftop bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Close to beach BUT...

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Hotel overall is in disrepair and cleanliness is questionable. Not only is room uncomfortably small the bathroom is so tiny you have no where to leave your cosmetics etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vista, ca

close to beach, nice staff, nice room, nice view.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Spanish style & the restaurants
Location: loved the location. right next to everything or within walking distance
loved the staff, Monica had the best customer service ive ever experienced. loved the hotel style & the restaurants. loved the live music.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
So happy you loved your stay, I can't wait to share this with Monica and the Team!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel close to town & the beach.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Our stay was short, but nice. Our room was the Spanish room. Was nice, but small. Clean room, comfy bed. And free breakfast in the cozy patio! Would probably come back, but get a bigger room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you Gia, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! You definitely have to give our Spanish King or Casa Surf rooms a try next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Classic old hotel in great location.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location. Love the old Spanish style. A good experience. Rooftop bar is great for sunsets. Staff are very helpful.
Cons: Parking lot is about a block away, but no big deal.
Location: Wonderful shopping and dining.
Stayed here previously and glad to be back. Old hotel with small rooms. Comfortable and worth the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Ken, glad you made a return to our hotel. We definitely have an amazing location, we are so lucky that everything in Laguna is quite convenient. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The view at Rooftop is amazing. Customer service was great. They ran out king size bed (due handicap request) and they went above and beyond to make it right for us (we receive a queen size bed). We got a room really close to the beach, an welcome champagne and couple salads at the restaurant :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your understanding! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make it right.