Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful luxury hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Everything about the Montage is first class. I would give especially high marks to landscaping and beauty of the grounds and professionalism of the staff. Rooms are large and comfortable, and food service is excellent. It is expensive ( enough so that I doubt I can afford to return), but I still consider it a good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to have you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

front check-in staff terrible

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Cons: They need to treat customers through 3rd party sites equally. Or stop using Expedia to book rooms for them!
there was a small error in my booking through expedia. instead of helping me resolve it, MK (the check-in person) turned me away and embarrassed me in front of my guest. She didn't even attempt to help me. I had to call expedia myself to get them to allow the hotel to check me in. It's obvious to me that they create Expedia customers as second-class. I spoke to the Manager (Samantha) and she took the check-in person's side. No apology. No offer of a discount. It's unfortunate because the hotel is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort fee too high

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Great stay, but visiting on business with no time to use resort facilities; they still charged 38$/day for something I didn’t use. That should change.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Best in the world

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
Super in every way.
5 out of 5
by sang youl

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
best service! food was great! awesome view!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Expedia Plus / Gold friendly

Posted Sep 27, 2017
The resort is nice but compared to other resorts near by I did not feel it was worth the price they charge. I actually chose this location for the first time because they are on Expedia's VIP list however when I checked in this was not acknowledged and I am not 100% sure it benefited me in any way. When management was notified I got this response ... "we will contact you directly" but they never did. The resort is due for updating especially in terms of the carpets and technology. I would likely stay elsewhere next time I am in laguna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vegas

Great place!!

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Wonderful Labor Day weekend. All the svc was terrific except breakfast Sunday morning bad svc. They were behind and we had to go find people to help us a few times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

Luxurious without being pretentious.

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Orbitz
The entire staff had it together. They go above and beyond for the hotel guests. Our room was clean and comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again. If you're looking for a luxury hotel without a pretentious feel, this is the place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

amazing experience

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
amazing experience is the weekend that the montage provided my fiancé and I win. The staff goes above and beyond and the amenities are outstanding and worth every dollar spent
5 out of 5
by Melanie

Lovely stay!

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Incredible property location and impeccable service. The resort might need a bit of a renovation, especially the carpets and furniture coverings.