Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Enough

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location, ocean view, size, free onsite parking, and comfort.
Cons: Deep cleaning of the unit on a more frequent schedule, and some touch up painting.
Location: Great location across from the beach, next door to two restaurants with a third restaurant a couple hundred feet away.
The room was a bit dated and could use a deep cleaning, but was clean enough on the surface. It's in a great location on Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) across the road from Doheny State Beach. It was a surprisingly large 1 bedroom unit. It had a large living room/dining area with roomy balcony containing table and chairs overlooking the ocean, a good size bathroom and a large bedroom with a very comfortable bed. The air conditioning was forced air from the ceiling, and worked well when I was there due to higher than average heat and humidity. Also across PCH are train tracks for Amtrak and MetroLink. The periodic passing train noise was not an issue, and could not be heard at all in the bedroom. For the size, location and price, it was a great deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: It was close to the beach, had A/C and the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated
Location: Right across from the beach, great Mexican food restaurant nearby. Between Laguna Beach and San Clemente.
An older hotel close to the beach. Has not been updated. Looks better from the outside than represented in the inside. Furniture was older but seemed clean. Bed was comfortable but we kept thinking about bedbugs. Bathroom was extremely small and outdated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton CA

Nice and clean very close to everything

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Over all the hotel is clean and quite, the breakfast room is way to small to accommodate guests during breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Cons: Towels were clean but stained. The rooms needed painting..certain areas felt grungy. Only oranges served at breakfast. Coffee was not very good.
Location was very good but the hotel felt old and grungy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Room with a View

Posted May 15, 2017
Upon Check-in, the front desk clerk was very friendly and offered suggestions for nearby restaurants. The room was spacious, and I LOVED that the balcony was facing the ocean. The hot tub is in the perfect spot, offering lounge chairs with a perfect ocean view. If you prefer to sit on the sand, it is an easy walk over the pedestrian bridge one short block away. The free breakfast offerings were sufficient and kept stocked all morning. The only two negatives about the stay were that there is a bar next door that was blaring loud, live music well into the night, and the morning front desk clerk was sitting there sleeping and very unfriendly when I tried to check-out.
4 out of 5
by Cynthia

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Incredible view! Olamendi's is close by and has great food! Overall, enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Old hotel but infront of the beach.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location in front of beach.
Cons: Need to upgrade the indoors furniture & carpets. Bathroom floor too. Price was kinda higher price for old hotel we paid around $150.00 early Apr'17
Location: Small beach & close to Dana Point Habor around 15 mins driving & 5 star Hotels & beaches too.
Nice location in front of beach, but it was old hotel & kinda noisy, infront of Amtrack Train track to S. Diego untill midnite, eventhough the bedroom was behind the living room.
3 out of 5
by Marcia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than average

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Fire alarm needed battery changed, and found a vaporizer that was leaking fluid in the couch cushions. Beach is close, hot tub was pleasant. Breakfast exceeded expectations, and the parking garage was nice to have. Vending machine was out of Arizona tea. The hotel room was an ok experience, in a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

My birthday gate away weekend on 4/1/17

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Outside patio with oceanview, kingbed size,& great deal for early spring break price.
Cons: Rooms, furnitures kinda old, & more amnesties.
Location: Dohenay beach, 1 cantina Mexican rest, 1 surf bar & 1 salon some Inn & hotels.
Great location with ocean view, King bed, & deccent price for Quality Inn, but small place for sightseeing infront of Dohenay Beach, but close by to the harbor, surronding Inn has 1 Cantina Mexican Rest, 1 salon, & 1 Surfing bar. Room is kinda old, but still comfy, clean & quite. Our King bed room at the back, kinda quite, but at night time we heard slightly noise from Amtrack train track passed by. We just stayed 1 night, it was fun weekend gate away for my Birthday to Orange County.