Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco bay area

Best hotel in the world.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
I was upgraded from garden to ocean view. The place is amazing. The property is amazing. The staff is wonderful. I wish that Expedia included the fees in the initial cost. I wasn't super jazzed about the resort fees after I paid up front. That was an unpleasant surprise but that didn't tarnish the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property and our staff. We hope you will visit the resort again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's been the worst stay in a five stars hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I dont know where to start off, southern california been my hit trip for 5 summers in a row. I always stay at Pelican hill resort or Montage, but i wanted to change and explore something different. I still regret decision. Prices are all the same Ritz carlton, pelican hill, and montage. Lets start with house keeping and cleaning. I was at the pool, and I went to our room to get my Ipad. As I walked in the house keeping person was looking at my bills that I left in my room from shopping last night, I reported this matter, nothing happend. Only "sorry" with a sad face from the manager. Secondly, sometimes we get shower gels and shampoos and sometimes not. Depending on the house keeper. I reported this matter, and I only got an apology letter from the reception. Before the checkout within 4 days ,I was staying for 8 nights, they sent me a letter under the door that I have to checkout tomorrow, I called them and they told me it was by mistake. From that day they started desucting nightly rate from my credit card, and they thought I did not pay my whole stay via Expedia. They kept deducting for 4 nights. When I reported the matter from the fist deduction they told me that they will report this matter to their finance department, and nothing happened!! Also, don't waste your money on their spa, the shower drain is RUSTY and their steamroom. So if you are going to spend 1,200$ a night, better spend it somewhere that deserves the money. Ah and the building is 30+ years old!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
We are grateful for the time you have taken to share your honest review. We thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel; however, we are concerned to hear such uncharacteristic feedback. We take pride in our impeccable service and attention to detail, and we regret that your expectations were not met. We welcome the opportunity to speak to you about your experience so that we may restore your faith in our team and resort. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aliso viejo, CA

nice hotel but poor service

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: nice environment, the food is great although the service is slow
Cons: customer service
we have 3 person but got one king bed, i have to call for switch the room for 2 bed, they let me called twice to ask for the new room key and wait over 30 min, so i have went down to front desk. the man didn't say a word seems that's my own problem, they told me, they are busy , well, For the price they charge , should have better service. they are busy, customer is busy too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback. We are disappointed knowing that your stay was anything less than perfect and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, we sincerely hope you will visit again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and fabulous view! Great food.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Dining options, food and views.
Cons: Cannot think of a thing!
We loved the dining experience with the incredible views and excellent food. Expensive rooms but worth the splurge for a night or two!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your honest comments about your visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel. We are elated to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and our amazing views. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Older hotel that is a poor value compared to the nearby montage
4 out of 5
by Michael

Easter

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, Way over priced. But the views are worth it
2 out of 5
by Jennifer

Continuous mistakes and bad service

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Worst experience at any of the Ritz Carlton properties we've stayed at, and we've been to at least 15.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Frederick

Always a great stay

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Love this hotel. Food staff and facility are top notch
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 star place, 3 star service