Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very nice hotel close to downtown, beaches.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Would definitely go back again. Great location, pleasant rooms and staff. Close walking distance to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC California

Quaint place to stay

Posted Sep 21, 2017
This place is in such a beautiful location, across the street is a breath taking beach, everything you need is in walking distance. The Inn staff is so friendly and helpful. They have a fireplace by the pool, we sat there at night! Such a wonderful experience overall. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Quaint hotel close to many amenities

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The Tides is a small inn featuring lovely clean rooms (I had a kitchenette) and a beautiful oval shaped pool. I stayed four nights and it appeared many couples traveling stay for a couple of nights to see the sights and move on. The weekend brought in a lively wedding party. I was in town to visit my daughter and went out with her after her work hours. During the day I walked to Hessler Park or "downtown". There are several good restaurants in close vicinity for breakfast or lunch. I enjoyed the pool area but the beach is also within walking distance. This hotel is in a great location! Yes, you can hear street noise; yes, the old walls are a bit thin. However the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are nice size, earplugs are provided or just put the AC on low!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely, individual and friendly place to stay!

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We stayed four nights as part of a road trip through Cali. After a big-chain type hotel which was good but could have been anywhere tbh, this place was a delight. The lady in reception gave us a warm welcome and lots of local information along with great recommendations for restaurants. Lovely characterful room with nice touches. Everything we needed, including free hire of beach towels, beach brollys etc. would definitely stay again if in the area. Top floor room recommended if you are ok with stairs. Just ask for a top floor room when you book. It may get hot up there but the Aircon worked very well. We had a view over the pool which was nice tho we didn't have time to use the pool. The hotel is in the Pacific Coast Highway but was surprisingly quiet and the traffic didn't disturb us at night even the my husband is a light sleeper. Short walk to beach, restaurants, bars and shops. :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, Ca

Cute beach stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Really cute beachy place. Comfortable and clean with nice pool and walking to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Fun & sun at the Tides

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location... it's walking distance to everything you want to do in Laguna Beach.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Laguna beachs, Heisler Park, Sawdust Festival, Pageant of the Masters.
Has a very pleasant stay at The Tides. I stayed there before... about 15 years ago. It was a genuine dive motel back then. I was very pleased to see that the property has been refreshed and improved since then. The pool was nice, and we enjoyed the outdoor fireplace. I think the thing that was best about the property was the on-site staff. The lady that checked us in in the afternoon... and the gentlemen that helps out in the evenings were both exceptional... pleasant, gracious, and quick to help with all of our requests. They made us feel right at home. The property also has things to loan out... sand toys, folding chairs, etc. for the nearby beach. I look forward to staying here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east coast.

Great location. Near Main Beach

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Friendly staff welcomed me upon arrival. Hotel is nice with a boutique feel. Near restaurants and the center of town.
4 out of 5
by Sylvia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Karen

Quaint and Comfortable

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at The Tides! The staff was most helpful and accommodating, and the location is perfect! It is walking distance to the beach, the village and the art festivals. In spite of being located on a busy thoroughfare, our upstairs corner room was quiet and comfortable. The decor is old -fashioned and quaint, with hardwoods floors and dark woods, but we did not lack for any modern amenities! The Tides was perfect for our Laguna Beach getaway!
5 out of 5
by Cynthia

Excellent

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely sweet Hotel, great staff