Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Affordable & roomy hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: I liked how quaint the atmosphere was at this location. Clean towels & sheets were appreciated!
Cons: The only thing I would improve is the soap, shampoo, conditioner & body wash pumps did not work anymore on any of them.
Location: Visit the Royal Hawaiian restaurant for great food!
I really enjoyed the special suite we had with plates from all around the world on the walls in the kitchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by The Tides Laguna Beach, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your feedback. We hope to be able to host you again in the future. Thank you for choosing The Tides :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange ca

Great place close to town

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Had a really good stay, clean and reasonably priced
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by The Tides Laguna Beach, Hotel Management
Thanks so much Gary! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very nice hotel close to downtown, beaches.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Would definitely go back again. Great location, pleasant rooms and staff. Close walking distance to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by The Tides Laguna Beach, Hotel Management
Your review is greatly appreciated. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to host you again if you are back in beautiful Laguna Beach. Thanks so much for choosing The Tides :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC California

Quaint place to stay

Posted Sep 21, 2017
This place is in such a beautiful location, across the street is a breath taking beach, everything you need is in walking distance. The Inn staff is so friendly and helpful. They have a fireplace by the pool, we sat there at night! Such a wonderful experience overall. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by The Tides Laguna Beach, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback Debbie. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Your pictures are beautiful! Thank you for choosing The Tides :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Quaint hotel close to many amenities

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The Tides is a small inn featuring lovely clean rooms (I had a kitchenette) and a beautiful oval shaped pool. I stayed four nights and it appeared many couples traveling stay for a couple of nights to see the sights and move on. The weekend brought in a lively wedding party. I was in town to visit my daughter and went out with her after her work hours. During the day I walked to Hessler Park or "downtown". There are several good restaurants in close vicinity for breakfast or lunch. I enjoyed the pool area but the beach is also within walking distance. This hotel is in a great location! Yes, you can hear street noise; yes, the old walls are a bit thin. However the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are nice size, earplugs are provided or just put the AC on low!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by The Tides Laguna Beach, Hotel Management
We're so happy you enjoyed your visit with your daughter in beautiful Laguna Beach. Thank you for choosing The Tides :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely, individual and friendly place to stay!

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We stayed four nights as part of a road trip through Cali. After a big-chain type hotel which was good but could have been anywhere tbh, this place was a delight. The lady in reception gave us a warm welcome and lots of local information along with great recommendations for restaurants. Lovely characterful room with nice touches. Everything we needed, including free hire of beach towels, beach brollys etc. would definitely stay again if in the area. Top floor room recommended if you are ok with stairs. Just ask for a top floor room when you book. It may get hot up there but the Aircon worked very well. We had a view over the pool which was nice tho we didn't have time to use the pool. The hotel is in the Pacific Coast Highway but was surprisingly quiet and the traffic didn't disturb us at night even the my husband is a light sleeper. Short walk to beach, restaurants, bars and shops. :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, Ca

Cute beach stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Really cute beachy place. Comfortable and clean with nice pool and walking to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glendale, ca

Great location and friendly sraff

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff greeted us warmly when we checked in. She was very helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach and the Festival of Arts venue. The free shuttle stop is very close to this hotel. Overall, it was a winderful stay. BTW - you cn borrow beach chairs, toys, umbrellas and towels if you want to spend a day in the beach. That was a pleasant surprise!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Fun & sun at the Tides

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location... it's walking distance to everything you want to do in Laguna Beach.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Laguna beachs, Heisler Park, Sawdust Festival, Pageant of the Masters.
Has a very pleasant stay at The Tides. I stayed there before... about 15 years ago. It was a genuine dive motel back then. I was very pleased to see that the property has been refreshed and improved since then. The pool was nice, and we enjoyed the outdoor fireplace. I think the thing that was best about the property was the on-site staff. The lady that checked us in in the afternoon... and the gentlemen that helps out in the evenings were both exceptional... pleasant, gracious, and quick to help with all of our requests. They made us feel right at home. The property also has things to loan out... sand toys, folding chairs, etc. for the nearby beach. I look forward to staying here again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels